Mama Sets The Tone

Sidenote: My son calls me, “mama,” which I secretly love. I know it’s only because he hasn’t yet mastered the sounds required for “Mommy,” but I plan to enjoy it while it lasts.

So, we’re doing this parenting bible study in Sunday school. Something was mentioned in class that struck me, which was: “Mama sets the tone of the home.”

Interesting.

Essentially, that means that mom’s mood can positively or negatively affect and/or alter everyone’s mood in the house.

As a mom who kind of finds herself reaching her boiling point more often that she’d like to admit (ahem), that’s kind of a hard pill to swallow. I’m not an angry person; I just feel like I reach my limits really quickly at times. And that’s not a great place to be.

So I thought more about it…I think it may really be a super accurate statement. Darn it. That’s kind of a lot of responsibility. I don’t necessarily like being held accountable for my bad moods.

That’s a grown-up attitude, eh?

Of course, the flip side would be that when mama is happy and calm and easy-going and fun-loving, so is everyone else in the house. And that’s really kind of cool.

Case in point: As suppertime neared last night, my mood headed south. I wasn’t feeling playful or all that loving toward the kids. I was pooped. When Jon came home, he was in a pretty good mood and was joking around with the kids. But (I think) my crabby mood wore off onto him and by the end of supper the jokes had stopped, the kids were exasperated, and mom and dad were DONE and ready for bedtime.

I have to wonder if I’d kept my cool a little better, maybe just been less sharp-tongued and been a little more gentle, then maybe the evening would have ended on a more peaceful note? It was not pretty at our house for a while there.

I can absolutely say that I’ve noticed this before. When I’m kind and gentle and loving, so are the kids. When I’m mad and angry and mean, so are my kids. And poor Jon just gets shoved into whatever mess of emotions we’re stuck in by the time he gets home from work.

My goal for this week is to keep my emotions under control, to learn when to hold my tongue and BREATHE and keep my temper in check. My husband deserves to come home to a peaceful, happy home. And my kids deserve to feel care-free and happy all day long. If I have the power to create that environment, I’m going to give it my best shot.

Leave a Reply

