Finding My Purpose

I’m not going to lie: some days, I feel like all I’m good for is scrubbing melted marshmallows out of the carpet (don’t ask) and cooking slightly burned meals.

During some seasons of life, it’s hard to feel like you have something to share with the world. And sometimes, even if you know what your purpose is, it’s hard to stay focused and find the time and energy to live in that state.

I’ve been working on identifying my purpose lately.

I know that right now, my main purpose and heart’s desire is to pour all the love and energy I can gather into my kids and hubby. But sometimes I need something ELSE to think about, or pour into. As much as I love raising my kids, I just feel like there are other opportunities around me and while I know I don’t need to be involved in everything, I don’t want to miss a chance to be used by God.

My bible study lately has centered around finding God’s guidance. Whatever tasks I’m led to do, whether household or parenting or creating or helping, I want to be where He wants me to be. I know I’ll be fulfilling my purpose if instead of praying, “God, what do you want me to do next?” I ask, “What do you want me to do while I’m RIGHT HERE?” He has a purpose for me right where I am. I don’t want to waste it.

So I’ve been using a few resources from my leadership class to help focus on what my purpose is, and discovering how God can use me right where I am, in this very season of life.

The first exercise is to brainstorm by answering the question, what is my purpose in life? Write down whatever comes to mind, but stop when you write the answer that makes you the most interested.

My answer (outside of mom/wife) is…hard to put into words, but I can FEEL it. I think right now in life, I need to help others feel like they belong, to find a place of acceptance and friendship and kindness. I’m going to have to be real and honest to do it, but that’s where I feel like I’m being led. I’m kind of sick of living in a shell, a shell I’ve talked myself into for years by describing myself as timid. Shy. Unconfident. I’ve missed out on a LOT by believing that I’m not strong or confident or good enough. I’m strangely not nervous to go down this road. I’m actually feeling kind of…relieved. Like something I’ve been suppressing for a long time is finally being allowed to surface and breathe and flourish. I’m ready.

So the next exercise was to ask yourself a few questions.
– What do people need or want so they come to you?
– When you are asked, what do you do?
– How can you use your greatest gifts in service?
– What would you do if you knew you could not fail?

At the moment, I don’t have a clue how to most effectively use my purpose, but I think that’s ok. Just realizing it and seeking God’s will for it is a powerful place to be. Once you get there, it’s peaceful. It’s not scary. And it’s not overwhelming. Realizing your purpose gives you a feeling of…quiet confidence. The thought of using your purpose to help others is an incredible gift. I don’t intend to sit on the sidelines and be a spectator anymore.

One thought on “Finding My Purpose

Leave a Reply

