My 2014 Word of the Year

Every year I pick out a Word of the Year, which becomes my theme for the year.  This year, my word is “vulnerable,” which may seem strange, but here’s why…

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the past six months, and I’ve been feeling as though the Lord is asking me to open up more, to be more vulnerable in all areas of my life.  In my marriage, with my kids, in friendships, with casual acquaintances, as a leader…in ALL AREAS.  I tend to be reserved and hold back in word and action for fear of what others may think about what I’m saying or doing, or of just plain saying or doing the wrong thing.  What God is revealing to me is that he has given me a story to share.  He’s given each of us unique stories.  We all have things He’s given us to share with people in our lives and when we don’t, we could be depriving someone of the message that they need to hear.  I have no way of knowing what words might bring others comfort, so being vulnerable and real, even when it’s scary and hard, is something I want to be doing.  Sharing the good AND the bad with others can open doors for friendships and relationships, and that’s so exciting! So 2014 is my year to be more open and vulnerable in sharing and connecting with others.

In the past it’s been kind of difficult to keep my word of the year at the front of my mind…usually by February it’s long gone.  But this year, I’m trying something new.  I’m getting a journal and writing my WOTY on the front, and I’ll keep it with me all the time.  And every time I hear/read/see something related to my word that is meaningful, I’ll write it down in my notebook.  I think that’ll help keep me motivated and accountable, and it will be  an awesome resource for the future.

So here’s to a great year!!

Leave a Reply

