Mommy’s Snack Time

Thank goodness for nap time, because…

Today was hummus day!

I love hummus day.

Don’t gag. For real. I never thought I’d be a hummus lover. I first tried it in on the beach in San Diego and was NOT a fan.

But then I came across a recipe online for black bean hummus and thought it sounded half-way decent, so I tried it. And now hummus and I are BFF’s.

Jon won’t go near it, and the kids aren’t huge fans, so it gets to be mine, all mine. I make it during nap time and pig out. 🙂

So if you’re in the mood to be brave and try something new, make some. It’s awesome with tortilla or pita chips (or make your own chips using corn tortillas)! It’s a winner!

Black Bean Hummus

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 T olive oil
2 T lemon juice
1 T white wine vinegar (I use regular vinegar sometimes)
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cumin
1 t onion powder
1/4 t chili powder
1 1/2 minced garlic

Blend all in blender til smooth. Add more oil if needed.

Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

