If You Weren’t Afraid

Have you seen that saying that floats around facebook/pinterest/the Internet: “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” It’s kind of one of those motivational type questions to get you moving out of your comfort zone.

I like my comfort zone. It’s quite cozy there, thank you very much.

However. Sometimes I feel like I’m being nudged out of it. Or pushed. (Thanks for that, Lord.)

I’ve shared a little about a few ways that I’m changing. I feel like I’m more motivated to do things differently, to write differently, talk differently, parent differently. And I care less about failing. (Less. But I still care.)

That’s how I how I got talked into facing my fear of people photography by doing a few photo shoots for friends and family while we’re in Indiana.

I bought a backdrop kit. Lighting. A faux fur rug. Props. A new speed light for the Pentax. Real deal photo shoot stuff.

And now I’m starting to have nightmares about it. For real. It’s that far out of my comfort zone.

But really, it’s all in my mindset. I’m terrified that I’m not amply prepared. How will I pose people? Can I manage a large group of people? Yikes.

Frankly, I’m sick of being afraid.

So when I start to freak out, I stop and make myself breathe. I can do this. What’s the worst that can happen? No, it probably won’t be perfect. Eh. Perfect is overrated. And say what you will, but there’s something exhilarating in facing your fears and making things happen that you never thought you could do. So I’m going to do it. And if it’s a disaster, maybe I’ll at least learn something in the process.

People photography is not something I intend to do on a regular basis, but I want to be good at it. Comfortable doing it. Capable. And there’s only one way to get to that point: take pictures of people.

So, what would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Leave a Reply

