Laundry Confessions

Laundry is my #1 enemy. We have a mutual understanding: we meet up once a week for a massive wash day and otherwise we ignore each other. It’s a great arrangement, for the most part. That said, I’ve recently made a few tweaks to our laundry routine and they’ve actually made me despise the chore just a liiittle bit less. So I’m sharing.

(Does it get any more exciting than this?! Try to contain your excitement over a laundry-centered post.) 😉

Laundry solution #1: homemade out, Amway in.

My mother has ruined my laundry nirvana. Kind of.

Here’s the scoop. For a few years, I’ve been using homemade powder laundry detergent. I’d been happy with it…mostly. Using it has saved us a ton of money. But it isn’t perfect. I’ve noticed that sometimes it leaves weird streaks on our clothes. And my family is dirty. The homemade detergent was good, but even with a stain sick it wasn’t getting the stains out.

Enter my mother. My brother and sister-in-law sell Amway, and my mother is completely hooked on their laundry products. And since she’s awesome like that, at some point she gifted me with them and now? I’m hooked, too. The homemade stuff is good-the Amway stuff is am-a-zing! And pricey, but…I will find room in our budget for it. That’s how crazy about it I am.

Laundry solution #2: fold as you go. My old habit: wash and dry, wash and dry, wash and dry all.day.long, then have 15 tons of laundry to fold/put away at the end of the day. Fun.

So now, I fold as I go. When the dryer goes off, I just fold each item as I pull it out of the dryer. It takes like 4 minutes and ta-da!! No piles of laundry sitting around the house. No living out of laundry baskets all week long. It’s kind of changing my life in a fabulous way.

Laundry solution #3: small loads.

In my head, logic says to wash a few huge loads, as opposed to lots of little loads. BUT, again, mom is rubbing off on me. I’ve started doing loads by colors instead of elusive “light,” “dark,” and “white” loads. Smaller loads are easier to handle and, more importantly, take much less time to fold. Way less intimidating than a huge, towering pile of clean duds. Woo-hoo!!!

So, that in a nutshell is my laundry process. In the words of Tim Gunn, I’m making it work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

