Mommy’s Off the Clock

Remember the home organizer I mentioned the other day? She had one other suggestion that I’ve been working on implementing. It’s a great tip that can apply to anyone, married or single, with kids or not.

Pick a time in the evening to be done. No more work, no more cleaning, no more computer. You have to make time to just chill out and relax.

I struggle with that, but I didn’t really realize it until she mentioned it. I try to get as much done as I can every day, from the time I get up til I go to bed. So that meant after the kids were in bed, I’d sit on the couch and fold laundry, or clean the kitchen, or put toys away for the 17th time that day, or scrub the tub without having to worry about anyone eating the soft scrub.

What I wasn’t considering was the fact that mommy needs an off switch. It isn’t healthy to always be going. If I want to be at my best, I need downtime, too. Time to read or watch Real Housewives or veg out with my hubby on the couch.

So now, mommy clocks out at 830 pm. No household chores, no annoying computer work, no canning. It’s been kind of a challenge to retrain my brain to relax a bit, but I’m getting there. It’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

