Reclaiming My Sanity

A couple of weeks ago, we had a guest speaker at MOPS. She was a home organizer and she gave us tons of tips for getting organized.

Um, I need her help at our house. Desperately.

But since hiring a home organizer isn’t in our budget at the moment, I was super excited to soak in her advice at our meeting. Lots of her ideas were things I am either already doing or know I should be doing. She had a few awesome new-to-me ideas too. Here’s one that I have adopted and am loving:

Use a hanging closet organizer to hold your kids’ outfits for the entire week.

20131002-092822.jpg

So on Sunday, I plan our Week’s activities and pull outfits for each kid. And I even pull pajamas for each night. Then I drop them in the organizer for each day and voila! One less hassle/decision To make every day.

Love thus simple system for a few reasons.

1. We have old dressers whose drawers stick. The fewer times I have to open/close them, the better.

2. I hate mornings. So the easier our morning routine is, the better.

3. I like feeling organized.

Sometimes the outfits of the day have to be changed at the last minute because of weather or a change of plans, but I’m ok with that. Laundry day is Monday at our house, so sometimes we run out of clothes/pajamas when I set out clothes on Sunday. No biggie, I just add them in as I do laundry on Monday.

Yay for organizational progress!

One thought on “Reclaiming My Sanity

  1. rub some wax (old candle, white crayon or the like) on the bottoms and tops of the drawers to help with stickiness…it works! (experienced)

Leave a Reply

