Pattern Making

I’m working on a project that requires me to do something I said I’d never do: make a pattern.

I’m 100% a believer in buying patterns. I’m not mathematic or artistic in any respect, and those are pretty important components to pattern-making.

But. I have been tossing around the idea of making an owl pillow for Abby, and the patterns on Etsy for this cute little project are running $8-9. Since they look fairly simple, I decided to try, just TRY, to do a pattern on my own.

20130317-130836.jpg

20130317-130905.jpg

It wasn’t nearly as awful as I expected. Since the owl will be symmetrical, I folded my paper in half and freehanded the owl. I even did a few sizes of owls while I was at it – small, big, and jumbo. Then I added a 1/4″ cut line to all the pieces (back, front and wing) to allow for the seam allowance.

By golly, I think it just might work.

And it was actually a fun experience. I would never attempt a pattern for something that needed precise measurements, but since the owl can be whatever size it wants, it’s a good project to practice my pattern making skills. I’m hoping they turn out well; I’d like to make some to sell at our MOPS craft fair next month. We shall see!!

4 thoughts on “Pattern Making

Leave a Reply

