Wall Art: The Farm Quarterly, 1957

I am so totally excited.

I was down in our basement, searching desperately for some creative wall decor to add to the walls in the dining room. I figured that before I go out and spend money on some new junk, I’d better investigate my tubs of miscellaneous junk downstairs.

I found a bunch of old National Geographic maps (1950’s) that could be cool, along with a couple of touristy license plates. Not sure if I’ll use them, but they are options.

20130117-134644.jpg

20130117-134717.jpg

But I’m most excited about this old magazine I found:

20130117-134759.jpg

I got this from my grandma YEARS ago. It’s “The Farm Quarterly,” Spring 1957. Love it, love it, love it. I think it’s so cool, but never knew what to do with it, so in a box it’s been sitting. Since it’s been hidden for years, the colors are still vibrant and gorgeous. It’s full of ads for old school farming products: John Deere, Pioneer, Allis-Chalmers, Massey-Harris, and TONS of others that I’ve never heard of but are still super neat looking. I even love the old articles…like “The Farmer’s Daughter.” So it hit me…I could totally frame some of them for our dining room and kitchen!!

20130117-135346.jpg

20130117-135403.jpg

20130117-135415.jpg

20130117-135429.jpg

It’s kind of goofy, and not everyone’s style, but I think they’d be a neat addition to a hodge-podge room. Throw some paint on a boring frame and voila! A fun piece of artwork.

2 thoughts on “Wall Art: The Farm Quarterly, 1957

Leave a Reply

