Wow, It’s Been A While

Merry Belated Christmas! And Happy 2013 to you! Things have been a little wild around here lately. I was down with the flu AND bronchitis right before Christmas…not a combination that I would recommend. Somehow, miraculously, no one else got sick with either – a Christmas miracle! 🙂 I’ve been playing catch up with housework and laundry ever since. We were in major survival mode for quite a while. Thank goodness for Jon having a flexible work schedule and in-laws that were willing to help out. I still get pooped pretty easily, which is a bummer.

And everything I touch breaks lately. The dishwasher, the vacuum, the blender/food processor, the dishwasher AGAIN. And I thought the driver’s side window in the car broke over the weekend (just after we finally paid the car loan off, of course)…which made me cry the entire trip home from town…but it was just frozen due to the cold weather. Good grief. It’s been a little overwhelming.

And our house is nearing the disgustingly filthy stage. I hate having a filthy house. As a mom to two kids under two, I own the fact that the house is dirty a lot. And messy. But it’s not usually filthy like it has been recently. I just can’t seem to keep up with it. I’m not kidding – we have four bags of trash waiting to be burned right now. Ewww.

Oh. And Riley has suddenly forgotten how to sleep at night, which has officially made me 100% positive that I’m done having kids. So add that exhaustion to recovering from bring sick, everything breaking, and a filthy house…yep. We’re doing well to get dressed these days.

I’m kind of an exhausted wack-a-doo lately.

But as my mother would say, “This too shall pass.” I have decided that rather than bemoaning my non-performing vacuum, I will enjoy my hiatus from vacuuming. And who cares if my kitchen floor is so sticky that my socks stick to it? I’m going to sit on the couch and hold my baby boy and sing the ABC’s with Abby. It could always be worse. So I’m going to do my best to just enjoy the little moments. And say to heck with my dirty toilet. 😉

2 thoughts on “Wow, It’s Been A While

  1. I remember things being like that when I quit my job. Either we are just more aware of it or Satan is trying discourage you. Either way, keep the faith, you are right where God wants you to be!

Leave a Reply

