Paint: Go Big or Go Home

Upon returning home from our Thanksgiving vacation and after having a week away from my grey dining room/paint dilemma, I realized:

1. I really, really hate the grey color of the dining room.
2. Grey paint, at least in my house, is depressing.
3. The grey must go bye-bye asap.

Since I have already purchased 4 gallons of paint that won’t be used (at least on walls), thus wasting more money than I care to admit, I went back to my original plans and chose yet another yellow for the walls but THIS TIME I bought a small, quart size can of it to try out first. Please, please do this if you’re like me and completely unsure (or just bad) about picking paint colors.

20121129-125948.jpg

This little can only cost $3.99. Perfect! I will admit that I bought one of these in a pale yellow that, when I got it home, I noticed it was basically the same color neon yellow that I started out with originally. Fail.

So I decided enough was enough in trying to choose a safe yellow. I finally picked a bold, deep yellow (called “cornmeal,” which is completely uninspiring) and finally nailed it! The right color! Hallelujah. I also got a small can of teal paint to use on the dining room chairs.

Here’s the right and wrong shades side by side:

20121129-130548.jpg

And the teal (which looks light blue but isn’t really):

20121129-130651.jpg

The two final colors so far (red will be added, too):

20121129-130747.jpg

Woo-hoo! Seems silly, but I feel such a sense of relief to be back at the yellow/teal/red bright and fun color palette. That grey just never felt right. It wasn’t us and wasn’t what we were going for…but I had to try it to find that out. Stay tuned for updates!!

Leave a Reply

