What I Want Our Home To Be

So all this crazy painting and messed-up revamping of our living and dining room has me feeling a little off-kilter.  Everything’s a mess.  Paint cans are sitting around, piles of picture frames are waiting for new pictures and new homes on the walls, odds and ends are heaped upon each other as I try and get my act together and decide what needs to go and what needs to remain in this disaster of a living space.

Should I paint the table and chairs a safe color or a fun accent color?  And what accent color(s) do I use?  And what to do about our 1970’s light fixture in the dining room?  And how can I make this ALL WORK TOGETHER?!  Ugh.  Interior design looks so much easier on HGTV.

Our home feels anything but harmonious and peaceful to me at the moment.  In fact, it kind of makes me want to hide underneath our bed.  Except there’s more even mess and unorganization there, so not even that is an appealing option.

And in the midst of this unruly chaos that has become my home, a blurb came across my Facebook feed and made me take a breath and refocus.

From “The Resolution For Women:”

Whether you are married or single, your home is holy ground. And you are a holy attendant, bestowed with the responsibility and privilege of creating an atmosphere in which the essence of God’s grace, freely extended to you, can be felt and sensed through the grace you freely extend to others. Your home is the place where you cultivate a peace to be enjoyed by the others who live there and by all who enter its doors.

Ahh.  When it’s all said and done, that’s the atmosphere I want in my home.  Sometimes it’s good for me to step back and take a good look at the big picture.  Really, it doesn’t matter if the walls are grey or yellow or purple or if the furniture is painted or what color scheme we do or don’t use.  I’m reminded of the motto of one of my favorite bloggers, The Nester: it doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.  My home will never be perfect.  Ever.  I just don’t have the knack for pulling all the little details together and making it lovely.  Heck, I can’t even pick out a paint color successfully.  But I can make the most of the home God’s gifted us with, and create an atmosphere of comfort and peace in spite of myself.  A peaceful, inviting, welcoming spirit can be offered no matter what color color the table and chairs are painted.  And as long as I keep that as my focus, we may all come out of this little redecorating project safely yet.

2 thoughts on “What I Want Our Home To Be

Leave a Reply

