Life At Our Place

Here are some notes of interest regarding life at our house.

  • My most favorite can’t-live-without item to date: Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm with pomegranate oil.  Yummy.
  • I just learned that I had no idea how to spell pomegranate.  Thank goodness for spell check.
  • Abby calls me Mom.  Well, it’s more like, “MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM” at the top of her lungs.  Not mommy, not mama, but MOOOOOOOOOOOM.  Jon gets to be “Da-eee” and Riley is “Ri-eeee” and me, I’m “MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.”
  • Riley’s been sleeping through the night lately, which has been a huge relief.  Well, until last night.  Last night he woke up at 1:55 to eat.  Then he woke up at 3:30ish and just talked and talked and talked until I got up and shoved his pacifier in his mouth and turned on his sleep sheep to coerce him back to sleep.  Then he woke up to eat again at 5:00.  He’s caught Abby’s cold, so I’m hoping his rough night can be blamed on that.  If we’re regressing, I may go crazy.  PLEASE don’t let us be regressing.
  • This is my last Monday morning of having to get up and head to work.  By the end of the week, I’ll be officially unemployed (by choice)…which is kind of a huge relief.  These past two weeks have proven to me that we’ve made the right decision about quitting to stay home with the kiddos.  The house is a disaster and we have so much laundry piled up that I’ve considered simply going out and buying everyone new clothes.
  • My most recent read: Simplicity Parenting.  It.Is.Awesome.  It’s all about simplifying your child’s environment so that they aren’t overwhelmed/overstimulated all the time.  I’ve already noticed that Abby gets very overwhelmed when there are lots of toys and noises and things going on.  So this book gives you guidance as far as how to remove distractions at home and make sure your kids can focus on just being kids.  I’m working my way through the book slowly and just finished the chapter on sorting through/cleaning out toys so that you only have toys available that encourage creative play.  Love that idea for lots of reasons, one being that our tiny house is too small to house lots of toys.  And I want my kids playing with toys that teach them how to be creative and problem solve and use their imaginations.  Great book.
  • OH!  And a paint update.  I posted my little freak-out post on Saturday in the middle of my painting project.  Now that the dining room has been completely painted, it’s not nearly as awful as I thought it was.  I think the old green paint was competing with the gray and made it look way scarier than it really was.  It’s still a work in progress, but I’m looking at it as a blank canvas.  We can do anything we want with it!  I’m pretty sure I’m going to use shades of teal as accent colors, which to me is really relaxing and calming and looks great with gray.  I’m trying to keep with my original goal of making it fun and inviting, so lots of bright colors are a must.  I’m going to paint the trim white and them add pops of color everywhere I can.  And I decided to do a lighter tint of the grey in the living room, and carry the teal colors there, too, so that it’s continuous since the rooms are joined.  Slowly making progress, which feels good.  Stay tuned!  🙂
2 thoughts on “Life At Our Place

  1. SO happy for you being done with work! You won’t regret one minute of it!! Oh, and I get to be mom as well with Hudson. 😦 I still remember the day Jessica started calling me mom and not mommy any more, it broke my heart! The little things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

