Crochet: Trying Yet Again

For me, learning to knit and/or crochet has been that totally unobtainable goal that’s always just beyond my reach. I’ve tried to learn a few times but never get very far with it.

But now that I’m home for three months and spending what feels like an awful lot of time on the couch, I decided that it’s time to pick up that crochet hook and try yet again.

And this time, YouTube is my teacher. I searched for “how to crochet” videos last night, and found one that has been very very very helpful. The whole process clicked for me, and when i tried it out, I got further than I ever had before, so that was encouraging.

My problems with crocheting so far:

1.) I am terrible at counting stitches.

2.) I keep tangling up the yarn in my left hand.

But practice makes perfect, right? I am determined to get this mastered. It will mean lots of ugly stitches at first, but I will triumph! Hopefully. It’s not pretty, but it’s progress.

20120817-134943.jpg

5 thoughts on “Crochet: Trying Yet Again

  1. Way to go, Jen! I don’t know whether or not it will work this way for you, but when I taught myself to crochet last winter I quickly became addicted! Have fun!

      • Well, I really haven’t accomplished very many projects. My first was a dishcloth (of course). I also made three scarves — one is a series of granny squares that are joined together…but I haven’t joined them yet! I also crocheted a beret-like hat (to match a scarf) and a darling scalloped-edged hat for a neighbor’s one-year-old. My last (and current) project is a shell-stitched shawl.

        Rather than focusing on turning out projects, I’ve been more interested in trying different stitches and learning techniques — such as crocheting in the round, making granny squares, etc. Of course, I try to crochet practical things otherwise it’s just a waste!

        Looking forward to seeing how some of your projects turn out! šŸ™‚

      • So impressed by your progress!! And jealous! Spent some time practicing yesterday and got kind of frustrated. I must not be finishing the rows right, because they look awful and get shorter as I go. Back to YouTube…

  2. I felt the same way about folding cranes for Hannah and Scotts wedding. They tried to teach me, I tried printed instructions and last attempt found a tutorial online and GOT IT after about an hour. Got addicted and folded approx 600. Don’t give up it will click.

Leave a comment