2 Kids Under 2: The Ultimate Diaper Bag Decision

Baby Schauer #2 will be born in a month or so. Time is going very, very, very fast.

He still has no name.

Now that I’ve finally prepared some items for him, I’m starting to freak out that he isn’t really a “he.” What if it’s really a girl in there?! We’re not prepared for another little girl. We’re barely prepared for a little boy.

There is one item I can officially cross off my Baby To Do list: buy a larger diaper bag. That’s a biggie! I was starting to think it would be the impossible feat. I tend to over pack a diaper bag, so Abby’s has always been overflowing to the max. Having two kids under two (both wearing cloth diapers) means you need a LOT of room in a diaper bag: diapers, wipes, toys, books, extra clothes, food, bottles, snacks, sippy cups….and on and on and on.

The thought of finding a bag to accommodate all of that for two children under the age of two was enough to make me want to gag. I had found one contender, the Petunia Picklebottom Abundance Bag, but they run about $190-200. As much as I loved those bags, the price was not going to work for us.

I’ve heard a lot about Vera Bradley bags, so I started looking into those. They had some pretty cute diaper bags, but they weren’t near big enough. They did have lots of other possible bags that could work, as well, so I decided I’d wait to purchase anything until I could look at them in person. I knew there was a little shop in my parent’s town that sells Vera stuff, so I went there to check out the options.

The bag I fell in love with was the “Weekender.” It’s a great size (yes, Tresia, I do believe it qualifies as a suitcase, only without wheels), has exterior and interior pockets, a messenger strap, and it zips shut. It was still almost $100, so I was a little hesitant…until I found one in a retired print that was on sale for 40% off! Perfect!

So this is my new diaper bag. I heart it.

It’s large enough to hold every piece of baby clothing I bought for Waylon on our trip….and let me tell you, that means it holds quite a bit. I’m starting to fear that maybe I went a little TOO big…but nah. And hey, in a pinch, both of my children will fit in the bag. Not that I would ever do that. Except to prove that they would. Ahem.

6 thoughts on “2 Kids Under 2: The Ultimate Diaper Bag Decision

  1. You go, girl! I agree that your bag can RARELY be too big. The purse I’m using right now could probably be considered a suitcase, but it was way to cute and cheap to pass up! Congrats on the good sale on your new diaper bag! You and I would have some fun hunting for bargains together. That is the ONLY way to shop! πŸ™‚

  2. I was thinking about what “suitcase and wheels” comment I was going to make…but you already knew that, didn’t you? πŸ˜‰ I laughed and laughed when I reached that part. Now I got nothin’. (By the way..for Christmas this year you are getting a set of luggage tags)

  3. FINALLY! I remembered the name of the diaper bag we had with the boys (yunno, cause it was SOOO long ago) – it was Fanci Free – and it was amazing, so many gizmos and gadgets and handy tools, I loved it!
    I swear I have pregnancy brain….no, that’s not a hint. I’m NOT preggo – that time has passed. But I can’t remember anything! Sheesh!
    Glad I finally remembered! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

