When I Grow Up I Want to be a Junk Gypsy

I think that I have a new ultimate “dream job” every week.  This week, it’s to be a Junk Gypsy.  “Junk Gypsy” is a show on HGTV that is awesome and amazing and wonderful.  Two sisters search for junk to use as home decor items; they refurbish some pieces of junk and leave others just as they are and they put them to use as furniture and decor in people’s homes and it is a fabulous, fabulous thing.

And they are my new heroes and inspiration.

Two things stand between me and my aspirations of joining the ranks and starting my new career as a Junk Gypsy.

  1. I live in the middle of nowhere, which means that cool junk/flea markets are kind of hard to come by.
  2. I have zero creativity when it comes to repurposing junk.  Zilch.  Nada.  Completely void.

On the episode I watched yesterday, they took a French horn and turned it into a chandelier.  Hello?! A musical instrument turned light fixture?!  It was fabulous!  And something I wouldn’t have thought of in a million, trillion years.  They are super creative.  Maybe if I relocate to Texas and follow them around for a few years a fraction of their creativity would rub off on me.  Hmmm.  Probably not, but they totally inspire me anyway.  And I love being inspired!

Leave a Reply

