The No Frills Homemade Laundry Detergent

It’s cheap. It’s easy to make. And it’s the best darn laundry detergent recipe I’ve tried. Ok…it’s the only one I’ve tried. But it works great for us and if it ain’t broke…we’re going with it!

This stuff works so well that it even gets Jon’s manure-and-mud-caked jeans clean. Gotta love that!

Mom sent me this recipe; it was in their local newspaper, along with lots of other homemade cleaners. I’ve shared it with a couple of people lately, so I thought I’d post it here again (I think I’ve shared it before) in case any one else is interested!

I made a huge batch of it over the weekend, which should last us at least 6 months. I store it in a Tupperware container intended for storing potatoes, but it works perfectly. I use 1 tablespoon per load (maybe a little more if it’s a really dirty load).

Here’s the details:

1 c. Soap flakes (I use bars of Fels Naptha, which you can find in the grocery aisle)
1/2 c. Borax
1/2 c. Washing soda

Mix together and store in an airtight container. The end!

See how easy? And cheap. I’ve never done the math on how much it costs per load, because I stink at math, but since it lasts forever, it saves us a bundle.

I bought a blender at a garage sale to use for grinding up the soap into flakes, but it recently died, so I did it the old fashioned way- grated the bars with a handheld cheese grater. And I have blisters on my thumb to prove it. It really wasn’t terrible; I did a little bit every time I went in the kitchen during the day. I think the blisters were just from doing so many bars (I think I did 6 or 7).

Here’s my bowl of soap flakes and the other two ingredients:

20120530-175031.jpg

And the finished product:

20120530-175112.jpg

Hope that helps!

6 thoughts on “The No Frills Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. What does it smell like? When I was a kid my Mom used Fels Naptha soap to get grass stains out of our clothes. I also think it was used to wash with if someone got into poison ivy. I think I should give it a try.

    • I love how the Fels smells…it’s just a nice, clean, soapy scent. Some people use Ivory soap; I’ve never tried anything but Fels, but I think you can use whatever soap you prefer. The detergent doesn’t have much of a scent at all. Fels for Poison ivy? I’ll have to remember that…Jon gets into it at least a couple times a year. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

