Snake Heaven

Oh.my.gosh.

Ohmygosh ohmygosh ohmygosh.

My gardening season may be over before it even begins.

While planting the garden this morning (yes, a little late, but recently that’s how we roll around here), I had not one, not two, but three, yes THREE, encounters with snakes.

Ohmygosh.

The first: I almost stepped on one in the driveway that has been smooshed. Ewww. Creepy.

The second: I was hoeing the spot for the green beans and I don’t know what exactly happened, but let’s just say I killed my first snake (without even intending to!) and leave it at that. I will say two things: 1. My garden hoe can now lovingly be referred to as the ultimate stealth snake killer. 2. There is one less snake in my garden.

(And just for the record, dead snakes terrify me almost as much as living snakes.)

The third: I was 93% done planting -the end was in sight – when one slithered it’s way across the garden. I made myself stay put rather than following my usual instinct, which is to run like a mad woman while screaming like a banshee. That’s progress, right?

Ugh.

I know I need to conquer this phobia of mine, but really? Three snake sightings in an hour’s time? Good grief.

And now I have the willies so bad that I’m watching for them everywhere, even in my living room.

I have a feeling it’s going to be a loooooong gardening season.

3 thoughts on “Snake Heaven

  1. You need a dog like ours…he’s the greatest snake killer ever!
    oh, and yes I would have loved to have been there to see this event. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Only problem with that is your dog then drags the dumb things up onto your porch. At least they’re dead…although dead snakes are still gross and creepy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

