The It’s Greek To Me Salad

Sidenote: I had a great post planned for today, complete with pictures of the start of the South Deck makeover, but my iphone is being a piece of trash AGAIN and won’t cooperate, so I will share my #1 most favorite new food with you today instead.

While I was planning our meals for the month of May, I primarily stuck to one cookbook: The Healthy College Cookbook.  I bought it a few years ago (even though my college days were far behind me) because it had lots of interesting, easy, inexpensive, healthy meals that used normal ingredients.  It’s become one of my favorite cookbooks and I pull it off the shelf whenever my meals get stuck in a rut.

Jon’s been working late this week, so I planned meals that sounded good to me, and that I could make a big helping of and munch on for a day or two or three.  One of those recipes was a Greek salad.

Have you ever had a Greek salad?  I never had until this week, but somehow the ingredients and dressing just sounded uber-yummy to me and caught my eye, so I made up a big bowl of it.  And I am now officially hooked.  It.  Is.  Amazing.

(I’d post a picture of it, but you know.  iPhone.  Sigh.)

I don’t have the exact recipe at my fingertips at the moment, but basically you just mix together Romaine lettuce, cucumber, green pepper, red onion, tomatoes, feta cheese (LOVE me some feta!) and black olives.  I don’t like tomatoes or black olives, so I left those out.  The dressing calls for olive oil, red wine vinegar (which I didn’t have, so I just used plain old white vinegar and it turned out fine), lemon juice, dried parsley flakes, some minced garlic, and a dash of salt and pepper.  I didn’t dump the dressing directly on the salad, since it was a big batch and I knew I’d be eating off it for a couple of days; I stored the dressing in a separate container and just dump a little on when I’m ready for it.

It is the best, most mouth watering thing I have eaten in a long time.  There’s just something about it that makes my taste buds sing.  And I’ll be eating it often we enter gardening season, since I’ll be growing lots of those ingredients in our back yard.  Yumminess!  🙂

Leave a Reply

