Here’s To Doing What You Love

I’ve been trying to improve my portrait photography skills. You know, taking nice, pretty, lovely, adorable pictures of kids and families and babies. Oh, how I love the babies.

That being said, I recently realized: I stink at photographing people. I’m really pretty awful at it. It’s just not very natural for me. It’s one big huge struggle, and I don’t know what exactly I’m doing wrong, but lately it just isn’t working for me. I don’t find it fun and I kind of hate it. There. I said it. It’s out there.

But I love, LOVE photographing outdoorsy stuff. Barns, farms, animals, plants, lakes, mountains, Amish buggies…those are the things that get me pumped to get out my camera and click away.

The sad thing is, I haven’t been photographing the things I enjoy lately because I’ve been so down in the dumps about having to take pictures of people and not having them turn out well. My will to shoot gets depleted and instead of getting out there and shooting things I enjoy, I shoot…nothing. Nada. Not even Abby, except for maybe an occasional crummy cell phone pic.

Time to get back on the horse and do what I love. I enrolled in an online photography course through Clickin’ Moms that starts next week and I’m totally pumped about it, now that I’m being honest to myself about what I want to be photographing. Maybe the course will help me out with my people photog skills…and maybe not. Regardless, I’m excited to polish up my skills and know-how. 🙂

Leave a Reply

