The Ultimate Task: Cleaning My Filthy Oven

This post is a first-hand account of the exciting day to day happenings at the cozy house.

Last week I did something that I haven’t done in a LOOOOOOOONG time: I cleaned the oven. Seriously, I don’t remember the last time I cleaned it. Have I ever cleaned it? I’m not really sure. Terrible but true.

So I decided the time had come. I didn’t have any oven cleaner…obviously, since I’ve never cleaned it. I found some homemade cleaners online that used baking soda, so I decided to give it a try.

I had a few cleaners bookmarked, but they needed to sit overnight once applied, and I’m too impatient for that. I found one that I could apply and clean off right away. The first cleaner was a combination of vinegar, baking soda and water. It fizzed up when I mixed it together, which was fun, but as far as cleaning effectively it did virtually nothing. So I broke down and mixed together the “leave on overnight” recipe. I mixed together some baking soda and water until it was the consistency of frosting, then spread it on the oven mess. My mix was a little too watery, but it worked. When I cleaned it off the next morning, my messy little oven was spic and span! Loved it. And I don’t think I will use my oven for a long time in an effort to keep it that way. Just kidding! Kind of.

Before:

20120423-173810.jpg

With the paste:

20120423-173845.jpg

And after:

20120423-173923.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Task: Cleaning My Filthy Oven

  1. So glad I read this! I’ve been needing to clean my oven forever but keep forgetting to get cleaner! I think I’ll try this first since I already have baking soda on hand!

Leave a Reply

