In Honor of Spring

Happy first day of SPRING!  Hooray!

Let the garden and flower bed planning officially commence!  🙂  Last week’s beautiful weather got me in the mood, and I started weeding/cleaning out the flower beds…and saw our first daffodil of the season!

I’ve been collecting ideas for this year’s garden and landscape for months, and I’m more than ready to get a few projects started.  So here are some  that are on my to-do list this spring.  I’ll be sure to post updates on what I accomplish.

  • These adorable garden markers. I typically just shove sticks in the ground to mark rows…this is WAY cuter and probably more reliable, since sticks seem to break…and get lost amidst the weeds….not that I speak from experience, of course.  (Ahem.) 
  • Love this idea…not sure where the original source is (if you know, please let me know so I can give credit!), but I think it is oh so cute.  LOVE the rustic country feel (and the white porch!).  I have a bunch of metal buckets and tubs that would be perfect to use as planters…can’t wait to give them a new purpose!
  • To cut down on weeding time, I’m going to do something that I probably should have done when I first put in the flower beds: install landscaping fabric underneath the mulch.  With flower beds on three of the four sides of our house, I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep up with all the weeds, and I hope this will help slow them down a little.  Anyone have experience with using landscape fabric?  Any advice is welcome!!
  • OK, so my main goal in the garden is to eventually have raised beds instead of rows.  I’d hoped for it to happen this summer, but I’m not sure I’ll make it happen.  Oh, how I want to!!  This one (from the This Old House website) is my inspiration…I love it so, so much.
  • Marigolds aplenty around the garden fence.  I’ve heard marigolds are a snake-deterrent and thus are excellent for bordering the garden…if this is true, I’ll plant them so thick it will be hard to even get to the garden.  Snakes be gone.
4 thoughts on “In Honor of Spring

  1. So… we used the fabric stuff. Turns out our weeds like to grow through the fabric and then ripped the fabric when I pulled the weeds. Not recommended in my opinion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

