My Stinking Facebook Addiction

I heard this somewhere recently, that Facebook is even more addicting than cigarettes nowadays.

At first I was like, “Uh, yeah right.”  But they explained that it’s because Facebook is soooo accessible.  Totally true!  If I’m at work, I can check Facebook anytime I want, all day long. And it’s even worse if you’re like me and have it on your phone, too.  I’m really truly able to check it anytime, day or night, 24/7.

And it IS addicting.  At times, I’m totally grossed out by how addicted I am to it.  And I think I can honestly say that 85% of the time, I’ll often get onto Facebook out of sheer boredom, which isn’t exactly a good reason.  At all.

Which is why I have declared Sunday at Facebook-free day.  Well, it’s one of the reasons.

I’ve been slowly working at making Sunday a true day of rest.  I think the Lord knew what we needed when he declared Sunday to be a day of rest.  We need time to unwind and be still and calm and unwind and relax and just be.  And it’s hard (for me, anyway) to do that when i am constantly hustling and bustling and “plugged in.”

So I’ve been trying to make Sundays a day where we go to church as a family, and then come home and just chill.

No laundry, no scrubbing toilets, no paying bills.  And NO Facebook.

Lots of reading, and naps, and REAL down time.

There’s something freeing about breaking the Facebook addiction…about having the power to look at that little icon on my phone and CHOOSING to ignore it for 24 hours.  I’m liking that feeling.

So just know that as much as I love all of you, any attempts to contact me on Sunday via Facebook will be ignored until Monday morning rolls around.  (You can always call or text me, however.  I’m not THAT unplugged on Sundays.)  😉

One thought on “My Stinking Facebook Addiction

Leave a Reply

