Pity Party for Moi

I think I have been sick more often this winter than I have been in my entire life.  Ugh.

Abby was kind enough to share her monstrous cold with me last week.  At least I think it’s a cold.  I haven’t been to the doctor, so for all I know, it could be something exciting like pneumonia or pertussis.

Whatever it is…it. is. miserable.

Stuffy head.  Headache. Congestion. My ears have been plugged for four days now.  I haven’t been able to taste food or smell in 4 days (which has actually been a nice relief from my sometimes gassy husband.  Sorry if that’s TMI.)

It’s been all I can do to just keep us alive and fed during this round of illness.  Jon was the lucky one who somehow escaped it…although he says he had it, too.  I don’t think he did.  We haven’t gone through enough Kleenex for him to have had it, too.

I keep telling myself that someday I will have the energy and motivation to do more other than lay on the couch and watch my child play.  She finally got to feeling like herself again after a week of this crap, so I know I’m in for it for a couple more days, at least.

Really, I guess I should try to enjoy being under the weather, because as soon as I start feeling better, I’m going to have to face the mounds of laundry and dirty dishes that have been piling up around the house.  So here’s to being sick!

Pity party over.  Thanks for letting me moan around a little.  😉 See ya tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Pity Party for Moi

  1. Sometimes, as a mother, if all you accomplish all winter is keeping everyone fed and clothed then it has been a successful winter. Spring (and better health) will come and this winter of yuck will soon be forgotten. Trust me, I’ve been there (I think – mostly I forgot!) Just think, Abby won’t even remember when mommy was so sick that she just watched her baby girl play all day!
    PS Sometimes it takes someone being sick to get mommy to slow down and enjoy her baby a little!! I’ve been there too.

Leave a Reply

