A Monster Batch of Monster Cookies

I had to make cookies for an event at our church on Saturday, so I waded through the recipe box in search of a recipe that I had all the ingredients for.  And the winning recipe was…Aunt Colleen’s monster cookies!  She gave me the recipe when Jon and I first got married.  I rarely bake cookies, so I’d never tried them out, but they sounded perfect  for the occasion, so I whipped up a batch.

I wasn’t sure if they were called monster cookies because of they contained massive amounts of certain ingredients (read through the recipe below…you’ll see what I mean), or because the cookies themselves were monster-sized, or because the recipe would make a huge batch of cookies.  Now that I’ve tried them, I’d say it’s they’re called monster cookies for ALL of those reasons.  And because I think Cookie Monster would love them, big time…so maybe they’re named for him.  Who knows.  (Colleen?  Any input?)

Here are a couple of tips if you try them out:

  • I recommend using a mixer…the batch is awful big and sticky by the time you get finished adding all the ingredients.  (Just in case you’re like me and like to mix things by hand.)  🙂
  • To flatten the cookies, I used a glass with a wet bottom…getting it wet helped prevent the glass from sticking to the dough.
  • I used standard sized cookie sheets, and was able to fit about nine cookies per tray.  The cookies were definitely on the large side, but we like them that way.  You could make them smaller, if you prefer little cookies.  Even making them as big as I did, I ended up getting SIX DOZEN cookies out of this batch.  Awesome!  I froze a bunch for later.
  • It’s not a mistake that there isn’t any flour in the recipe.  I know it may seem like there should at least be a little, but I double-checked it with Colleen before I started.  The nine cups of oatmeal takes the place of flour.  😉

So in appreciation for my new favorite cookie recipe, I’m sharing it with you.  It was super duper easy to make,  Thanks for sharing a good one, Colleen!

Monster Cookies

6 eggs
2 1/4 cups brown sugar
2 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla
4 tsp baking soda
2 sticks butter or margarine
2 3/4 cups crunchy peanut butter
9 cups oatmeal (this is not a typo!)
1 pkg chocolate chips
1 pkg M&M’s

Mix in large bowl in order given.  Drop by large spoonfuls and flatten.  Bake 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.

 

8 thoughts on “A Monster Batch of Monster Cookies

  1. I would TOTALLY take any extras off your hands…I LOVE cookies but never make them for myself because I would probably eat them all in one sitting. Hope to see you tomorrow night! 🙂

  2. Not sure how the name was given for these cookies, they were just something I married into. I assume that all your ideas would fit perfectly for the reason of the name!
    I am glad they turned out for you, I just made some for my valentines on tuesday also!
    Other helpful hints, I do use a stand mixer, beat the eggs on high while I am getting the next ingredient ready, then continue beating on high adding each ingredient until i get to the oatmeal, then i slow it down and only add half the oatmeal. I put the rest in a big tupperware bowl and mix the rest by hand, because my mixer bowl isn’t big enough. I use melted parkay, regular – not light, and this last batch, I didn’t flatten. I also use a pampered chef large cookie dipper/clicker to size them. Just a reminder not to over bake, as soon as they start to turn light brown I take them out. they seem to continue to bake even after removing them from the oven. They stay softer longer that way, unless you want a crispy cookie, then bake till browned. The batch can be cut in half, so you don’t have so many, but i like to make a full batch, bake half or as many i need, then dip out the rest of the mix into portions and freeze before baking. then when you need a good smelling house, and a fresh batch of cookies, you can take them out of the freezer and bake them up! mmmmmmmmmmmmm good!

    • MMMMMMMMMMM good is right! You are a professional monster cookie baker! Thanks for sharing all your tips and tricks. I’ll be brave enough to try the stand mixer next time. I did use my big Tupperware bowl, which worked really well, but it’s good to know that a stand mixer will handle it. I definitely need to get one of those Pampered Chef cookie scoopers. That’s been on my wish list for a few years now. One of these days… 😉

Leave a Reply

