Auction Hunting

The Presbyterian Church in a nearby town closed recently.  So a few weeks ago, they had an auction to sell off a bunch of the items in the church.

It’s very sad to me that a church had to close.

However, that being said, in the bleak Nebraska mid-winter, an auction is about as exciting as it gets ’round these parts.  And I love me a good auction.  I’d been going through auction withdrawals.  So, my mother-in-law and I went to check out the action and if nothing else, get out of the house for a couple of hours.  😉

It was kind of neat to go to an auction that had different types of items, as opposed to your run-of-the-mill household auction stuff.

Some of the items for sale: pews, pianos, an organ, tables, stained glass window, chairs, REAL slate chalkboards (man, did I want one of those, but they went way out of my price range), altar decorations, and lots and lots of other unique items.  It was really interesting.

I was particularly interested in a couple of items from the nursery that I’d seen listed in the sale bill.  And I won a two of four items I was most interested in…yay!

One was this little rocking horse.  I think it’s stinking adorable. (Sorry for the awful, terrible, no good cell phone pics that will follow.  I didn’t feel like dragging out the big dog camera yesterday.)

My kid’s not into it at ALL.

And I also came home with this fabulous old, wooden bowling pin set.  The ball is so heavy that Abby probably won’t be able to lift it until she’s 10, but she’ll get there eventually.

Susan went home with an adorable little wooden chair and an oh-so-neat wooden sheet music cabinet.  We found some good treasures.  Yay for antiques and auctions!!

Leave a Reply

