Runza Casserole – Yum, Yum, Yum

For Christmas, my mother-in-law gave each of us daughters-in-laws a collection of her favorite recipes. It’s my goal to work my way through them this year. Some of them were familiar to me, and some of them I’d never heard of. But the ALL sound fabulous, and I am so excited to add them to my recipe collection!

20120201-203802.jpg

So tonight I tried her Runza Casserole, which was one of those recipes that I didn’t even know existed until I got my recipe book. I blogged about our love of runzas a while back. Runzas are little dough-wrapped bundles of joy, filled with hamburger, onion, and cabbage. De-lish. They are fairly simple to make, but this runza casserole is even easier…and super yummy. I highly recommend it!!! Try it soon…bring the runza love to your kitchen!

20120201-203959.jpg

Runza Casserole

2 pkgs crescent rolls (in tubes)
1 onion, chopped
1 medium head of cabbage, chopped
1 c. shredded cheese
1.5 lbs ground beef
Salt and pepper
1 can cream of mushroom soup

Brown beef; add onion, cabbage, salt and pepper. Steam until cabbage is cooked.

Cover bottom of 9×13 pan with one pkg. crescent rolls. Spread meat mixture over them. Spread soup over meat mixture and top with cheese. Put second pkg of rolls on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or til rolls are done.

2 thoughts on “Runza Casserole – Yum, Yum, Yum

Leave a Reply

