50 Things About Me

I feel completely uninspired today, so in protest of writing a “real” post, I’m choosing to ramble.

  1. I live 60 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart.  Some days I love being so rural, and some days I hate it.
  2. I majored in English and Writing at Indiana Wesleyan University.
  3. Speaking of college, it’s been ten years since I graduated.  Whoa.  Typing that just blew my mind a little bit.
  4. My favorite color is pink.
  5. My first job was at a tiny little bagel shop called “Itsa Bagel Shop.”  It was along the St. Joe river in South Bend, but I think it’s since been torn down in the name of progress.  I owe my love for bagel sandwiches to that job.  It was there that I fell head over heels in love with salt bagels.
  6. While working at said first job, I was so timid and shy that anytime I was asked to leave the kitchen and help out front, I nearly had heart palpitations. It’s amazing I survived.
  7. I am obsessed with Little Debbie Christmas Tree Cakes.
  8. My first car was a Dodge Dynasty.
  9. When I was in high school, I crashed my Dodge Dynasty into a deer on my way to an early morning swing choir practice and totaled it. That was a very sad day.
  10. I sort of secretly enjoy watching Randy Anderson hunting videos with my hubby.
  11. I have a terrible time finding jeans that fit well.
  12. I get distracted very, very easily.
  13. My real job is working part-time as a health educator at a public health department.
  14. Oh, and my BFF and I are co-owners of a fitness center, too.
  15. I’m not very good at practicing what I preach in matters of health and wellness.
  16. As in, I love junk food.
  17. And I also love laying around watching the “Real Housewives” on Bravo.
  18. I hate balancing the checkbook.  Basically, I hate math in general.  Hence why I was an English major.
  19. I’m great at procrastinating.
  20. I love, LOVE shopping for office and organizational supplies.  I could wander around office supply stores for hours.
  21. Flavored coffee creamer makes me happy.  Especially peppermint mocha.
  22. We use cloth diapers on our kid, and I love it.  It’s saved us a ton of money, and dealing with poop isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be.
  23. I am cheap (but I prefer to think of it as “frugal”).
  24. I still have that dream of being in high school and not being able to get my locker open.  I HATE that dream.  It seriously stresses me out.
  25. NPR is my radio station of choice lately.  Love  Morning Edition.  And All Things Considered.  And Car Talk.  And Wait, Wait.
  26. I am terrible at using coupons.  I want to be a great coupon-clipper, but it just isn’t very practical where we live.  There aren’t very many grocery stores (ok, there are two), and they don’t offer double coupon days. Whenever I clip coupons, they seem to expire before I remember to use them.  Boo.
  27. The navel on navel oranges kind of grosses me out.
  28. Someday, I am going to attend the Relevant blogging conference.  Someday.
  29. Someday, I am going to visit Alaska again.
  30. Someday, I’m going to have to win the lottery to support my travel plans.
  31. I was born and raised in South Bend, Indiana.
  32. After I graduated from college, I moved to Rapid City, South Dakota, because I love it there.  It’s one of my top 5 US cities.  Plus, I had friends living there, and that always helps.  🙂
  33. While living in Rapid, I visited my cousin who lives in Nebraska.  While visiting my cuz, I met my hubby, and that’s how I came to be a Cornhusker.
  34. Every summer I have a garden (except for last summer, because I had a new baby), and every spring I’m super-duper excited to get it started but for some reason always end up planting everything very, very late.
  35. I’m also terrible at keeping up with the garden.  It gets overgrown with weeds and I usually have to weed-whack it at least twice during the season.  And then I become terrified that snakes are lurking beneath the weeds, so I avoid the poor garden even more.  Sigh.
  36. But I love canning/freezing produce from the garden, so that’s what keeps me going.
  37. Did I mention before #35 that I’m scared spitless of snakes?  I am.  Big time.
  38. We have two dogs that live outdoors at our house.  Sage is a black lab/german short hair mix and Corky (as in “put a cork in it, you dumb dog”) is a rat terrier/Jack Russel terrier mix.
  39. I’m a “wait ’til the last minute” kind of person.  Hence why we are late to church every. single. week.
  40. Sometimes I get so homesick I could scream.
  41. I luuuuuuuuuuv chili.  Especially with a big ol’ gooey grilled cheese sandwich on the side.  Mmmmmmm. Now I’m getting hungry.
  42. I can’t stand those “end of the world” kind of movies.  Unfortunately, the hubby loves them.
  43. I have a hard time saying no.
  44. I’m a lot better at dreaming than doing.
  45. Try as I might, I just can’t seem to stop piling clothes on our bedroom floor.
  46. #45 is probably due to the fact that deep down I am harboring hoarding tendencies.
  47. Hubby and I have been hitched for 4.5 years.
  48. I am really, really bad at remembering birthdays and anniversaries.
  49. I’m cold most of the time.  I use my little space heater year-round at work.
  50. I typically have about 14 projects going at any one given time, which can probably be attibuted to my short attention span.  🙂

So there’s my totally random post for this Tuesday afternoon.  🙂

11 thoughts on “50 Things About Me

  1. Wow! I learned quite a few things about you! I’m quite impressed that you came up with 50 things to tell us about yourself…don’t think I would be able to do that! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that you have a very Happy New Year. Hope to see you at the fitness center next week. 🙂

  2. I know it’s probably against your religion, but Speed’s Market does have double coupons everyday… but I think they can’t be over a dollar or something like that? 😉

Leave a Reply

