Old School Crock Pot Recipes

I was digging through my recipe books recently and came across this little gem.

It came with my old school circa 1980’s crock pot that I picked up at a garage sale when I lived in Rapid. I love/ love, love that crock pot. It’s still my favorite. We got a new, big, shiny, oval-shaped one as a wedding present, which we use a lot, but it cooks really hot and food tends to get stuck on the sides which makes it no fun to clean. Sigh.

Any-hoo.

I flipped through the little cookbook and totally felt excited to try a few of the recipes. I am absolutely guilty of getting in crock pot ruts, where I get stuck cooking the same 4 or 5 crock pot suppers on a rotating basis. As I looked through the recipes, I realized that I seriously underestimate the capabilities of my crock pot.

I had no idea that you can cook cakes and breads in a crock pot. Or vegetables like corn or green beans. Or baked potatoes. Or hot dogs. (I know, I know…kind of strange when you could just use a microwave…but I do LOVE hot dogs.)

Sidebar: This little cookbook has settled (in my mind, anyway) the ongoing debate with my hubby about whether or not to add water when cooking a roast (he says yes, I say no). According to the official crock pot cook book, no water needed. YES!

So I thought it would be fun to share a few of these recipes. Maybe we’ll find a new favorite meal! 🙂

Baked Ham in Foil

Wrap precooked ham in foil; place in crock pot. Cover and cook on low for 6-12 hours. If desired, sprinkle ham with liquid smoke before wrapping in foil.

Easy Does It Spaghetti

1 lb ground beef
1 Tablespoon minced onion
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon each: garlic powder and dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon each: allspice and pepper
8 ounce can tomato sauce
4 ounce can mushrooms
3 cups tomato juice
4 ounces dry spaghetti (1 1/2 cups), broken into 4-5″ pieces

Brown ground beef in skillet and place in crock pot. All all remaining ingredients except spaghetti; stir well. Cover and cook on low 6-8 hours (or high 3.5 hours). Turn high last hour and stir in dry spaghetti.

Fresh Corn on the Cob
Remove silks but leave green outer husks on the ears and cut off the ends so corn will fir in crock pot in standing position. Wash thoroughly. Six to eight ears fit best. Cover and cook on high 45 minutes, then turn to low for 1 1/2 – 2 hours. Remove husks and serve.

Caramel Nut Rolls (kind of strange instructions, but sounds interesting…)

2 pkgs refrigerator biscuits
1/2 c. mlted butter or margarine
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. chopped nuts
cinnamon

Turn crock pot on high while preparing rolls. Mix brown sugar and nuts together. Dip each biscuit in melted butter, then brown sugar and nuts. Place in a well-greased 2-quart coffee can. Sprinkle each layer of biscuits with cinnamon. Place can in crock pot; cover with 6-8 paper towels. Cover and cook on high about 3 1/2 hours. Crock pot lid should not be tightly closed but slightly raised, to allow release of excess moisture. Add no water, and DO NOT PEEK until last hour.

One thought on “Old School Crock Pot Recipes

  1. I have never baked in my crockpot but I have used it quite often. I have the oval one and John has baked potatoes in it and they are great. Make chile in it also.

Leave a Reply

