Jammin’

Jon’s been wandering home with ice cream buckets full of gorgeous red raspberries lately.

I love, love, love raspberries.  Mmmmmm.  So with the first batch I made a huge, overflowing raspberry crumble, the evidence of which is still covering the bottom of the oven.  (We had a little raspberry crumble oozing going on while it baked.)

This time, I decided to make raspberry freezer jam.

My college roomy introduced me to raspberry freezer jam; her mom made huge batches and so we always had loads of it in our freezer.  And it was amazing.  Fantastic.  I still dream about it.

Freezer jam is easy peasy.  Trust me…there’s a reason I make freezer jam instead of cooked jam.  It’s a piece of cake.  Plus, I think it will be divine in the peanut butter & jelly cupcakes I plan on making ASAP.  Yum yum.

Raspberry freezer jam calls for 3 ingredients: raspberries, sugar, and pectin.  I use Sure-jell pectin, because it’s what my mother and her mother before her used.  Ok, not really.  It’s just what I had in the cupboard.  (I do prefer it to Ball, but that’s just my personal preference.  Any brand pectin will do.)

First, put the baby’s bouncy seat on the counter and strap her in, because you know how much she enjoys watching you make messes in the kitchen.

Now, mash up your berries with a potato masher, ’til you have 3 cups of mashed berries.

To that you add 5 1/4 cups sugar.  This is when my mouth starts watering.

Seriously, is there anything more gorgeous than the color of raspberries?   LOVE.

Mix your pectin with some water and heat it to boiling.  Then add it to the sugar/berries and stir, stir, stir, as your baby supervises.

Ladle it into containers and…TA-DA!!

Raspberry freezer jam.

Bury them in the deep freeze until you’re ready to use them…all except one jar.  Put that one in the fridge to use right away.  Or eat it with a spoon.  Either one.  Guess which one I did.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Jammin’

Leave a Reply

