Organizing the Craft Corner

Space is super limited at the cozy house.  As a result, craft/sewing projects (of which there are usually many in the works at any given time) kind of overtake the dining room on a pretty regular basis.  I call it the “craft corner,” which is just a nice way of saying it’s a huge dumping ground for everything from fabric to glue guns.  Thank goodness my in-laws came over for Sunday dinner last weekend, thus forcing me to unearth the table and chairs for the first time in a few weeks.  It was nice to see my table again.  I’d missed it.  Over the next few days I worked on a few projects, and as the table started to be overcome with stuff again, I decided I couldn’t take it any longer.  The craft corner was due for a makeover.

So here are some “before” pics.  Keep in mind that this mess is mild compared to the mess that was pre-Sunday dinner. Yikes! (Please ignore the attention- and water-deprived plants in the background.)

 

I didn’t have the motivation or funds to go out and purchase any nifty storage solutions, so I had to make do with what we had.  Until that point, I had been storing fabric in a couple of plastic totes.  Not ideal, but it worked.  I decided to do an overhaul of the buffet thing that was home to our nice silverware, table linens, and spare curtains.  None of those items are used all that often, so I decided to use the buffet to hold my sewing and craft materials.  Yay!  Amazingly, everything that had been stored in the drawers fit into the tote that I’d had fabric in. LOVE that.  So fabric-turned-table-linens tote got banished to the basement and the fabric got organized by color (kind of), folded (kind of), and shoved into the buffet’s bottom drawer, along with some sheets that I need to rip into strips for rag rugs.

The other large drawer became home to miscellaneous sewing notions, pattern paper, felt, some fleece, and a few other random items.

The three smaller drawers became home to yarn and knitting needles, glue guns and sticks, and the items I use most while sewing – tape measure, scissors, pins, and a few patterns.  (Oh, and some socks to turn into baby leg warmers for the kid.)

When I was sorting the fabric tote, I ended up with a huge heap of scraps.  I found a long skinny under-the-bed tote and made that my new scraps container.  It fits nicely underneath the buffet, and my little tabletop ironing board fits nicely right on top of it.

I still dream of one day having a sewing room, but for now this will do.  I’m just excited to not have piles of projects and materials all over the place now.  It feels good to get organized!

Leave a Reply

