Pinterest’ing Day

I finally jumped on the Pinterest train. I avoided Pinterest for quite a while because I just didn’t see what the big deal was. Curiosity finally got the better of me last week, so I accepted an invite to join and my world hasn’t been the same since. Pinterest…oh, where to begin. At the very simplest level, Pinterest acts like a gigantic VISUAL bulletin board for all of your internet favorites. Find a favorite recipe on a blog? Save it on Pinterest. Come across a great Christmas gift idea for your father-in-law? Save it on Pinterest. Basically it’s a fabulous thing if you’re like me and have a bazillion sites and projects bookmarked on your computer. It turns your bookmarks into a photo treasury that’s fun and easier to search through that simply a loooooong list of who knows what. The fun begins when you start seeing what other people bookmark…and then you add to your board based on their boards and on and on and on it goes and it becomes the most EXCITING TIME OF YOUR LIFE! Ok, maybe it’s not the most exciting, but it is pretty great, especially if you’re like me and love craft projects/home decor ideas/new recipes, etc. (Sidenote: You have to be invited to join, so if you’d like in on the fun, just let me know and I’ll email you an invite. Or you can sign up and be placed on the waiting list, but I don’t know how long that takes.)

And there is a Pinterest app for my iPhone. Best.thing.ever. Hello, time-killer.

So, when I’m trolling the internet and find a sewing project that I must make for Abby because it is too cute for words, I hit the “pin it” button on my toolbar, and it instantly saves that project to my Pinterest. Amazing. Not sure how I lived without this, but my crafty side will never be the same again.

I made a few simple Pinterest projects this weekend that I thought I’d share with you. One was this ruffle butt onesie. I love ruffles oh so much. And thanks to Pinterest, I have found a truckload of ruffled projects. I took an old plain onesie that I always avoided because of it being so boring, fancied it up with some ruffles, and voila! A cute baby bottom. I think it took me maybe 20 minutes to sew. (I’m not very exact when it comes to ruffling. You can spend more time making ruffles look neat and tidy, but I like the rustic look.) Next time I think I will put a ruffle underneath the lowest one, because I’d like her bum to be a little bit more ruffled. Easy peasy!

I also came across a few ideas for using old t-shirts. If there’s one thing we have loads of in our house, it’s old t-shirts. Love the idea of re-purposing things that we already have, so I was really feeling the t-shirt craft ideas. The first idea I tried was this one for a produce bag. Oh my goodness. I love these bags. I made three of them already. I plan to take them with me to the store, along with my other grocery bags, and will use instead of the plastic bags in the produce department. These would also be great for collecting produce out of the garden or for books/shoes/towels at the pool or beach, or for a thousand different other things. You can make them any size you want. I know they aren’t fancy or life-changing…but I like them.

Then with the scraps left over from the produce bags, I made t-shirt flowers. These are even easier than the rosettes I showed you a couple of weeks ago. You just cut a strip of fabric, sew a gathering stich down the middle length-wise, ruffle it up, roll it up, and you are left with these fabulous flowers. Stick them on headbands or clips, purses, shirts, or anywhere that you want a little extra pizazz. Love! I know blue flowers are weird, but I was just playing with scraps. I’ve since found pink, red and orange shirts which I think will make fantastically gorgeous flowers. 🙂

Can I just say that prior to cutting up and sewing t-shirts, I was terrified of sewing knit fabrics. I avoided them like you wouldn’t believe. And I now think I’m starting to fall in love with them. I LOVE that you don’t have to hem them, because knits don’t fray. I went through every drawer in our bedroom looking for more t-shirts to sew. I think part of it that the material is just so stinking comfy cozy. It’s easy to shape, easy to smooth, easy to cut. And another reason is probably because I discovered the overlock stitch on my machine which finishes edges similar to a serger, thus making knits so much easier to sew. I love that stitch almost as much as I love Pinterest. And that’s saying something.

One thought on “Pinterest’ing Day

Leave a Reply

