Total Cuteness: Twirly Skirt

Lately I am all about sewing things that have ruffles and frills.  I can’t get enough of the cuteness.  It kills me!  So happy to have a little girl to doll up in girly clothes…at least until she’s old enough to protest.  I’m going to enjoy it while I can, because I have a feeling this little one is going to prefer camo and hunter orange to pink and purple ruffles and bows.  Just a hunch.

I started this skirt last week and worked on it little by little during nap times.   The tutorial is super easy to follow…and free!  I love free.  The tutorial is for sizes 2T, 3T and 4T…which my kid won’t be wearing for a long, long time.  But I wanted to try out the pattern anyway. I used some fabric scraps to test it out…and I love it.  Love, love, love, love, love, love.

I didn’t have any pink thread to use on the waistband, so I had to use black thread…that part of the skirt really bugs me.  And the finished product is far from perfect, but I think it stinking adorable anyway.  Next time, I’m going to try to either size it down for Abby (like for 6 or 12 months), or I may search around for another ruffle skirt pattern in her size.  I’m just thinking about how sweet it would look with some little tights when it gets cooler outside.  Maybe I should make one with camo fabric to cover my bases.

3 thoughts on “Total Cuteness: Twirly Skirt

Leave a Reply

