Planning, Schmanning

Lately I have convinced myself that planning is highly overrated.  This, of course, stems from the fact that I seem to have lost the ability to plan anything.

Do you ever have one of those days weeks when you try your hardest to be efficient and organized and it all just falls to pot regardless?  That is so my life recently.  My Franklin Covey planner is just not helping me out like it used to.

I’ve been trying to stay on top of everything by being super-duper-mega organized, but lately I don’t have the energy to stay on top of things.  It’s frustrating to me, but that’s just how it’s been.

Take meal planning.  Last Thursday I decided to attempt to plan meals for the rest of August, thinking that having this planned out would simplify my life.  And I’m sure it would, if I’d just do it.  I hauled out my recipe box and favorite cookbooks and settled in on the couch, got distracted by something a little person whose name starts with an “A,” and…there my recipes sit, untouched, five days later, in the same exact spot.  Crud.

I wrote this post earlier in the year, about a dry erase calender that worked really well for organizing my work schedule, fitness classes, and meal plans.  It still hangs on our fridge, but it hasn’t been touched since March.  I tried to erase it the other day and not a smidge of it would come off.  The ink has been baked onto it.  Sigh.

I mailed a bill to myself last week.  Sad but true.

Abby has an awesome evening routine going for the past few weeks.  Or rather, she did up until Sunday night.  Since Sunday she has been absolutely refusing bedtime with all of her might, which has been driving her mommy crazy.  And she may be little, but that child is one stubborn baby.

And the sewing corner…holy cow.  It’s a hot mess that consists of knitting needles, an ironing board-turned-table, scraps of fabrics, about five and a half patterns, a glue gun, and a Cricut. Chaos.  If I have the nerve later, I’ll post a picture to share with you.

So I’ve decided that I can get frustrated and feel overwhelmed…or I can have little celebrations over the tasks I am actually able to accomplish.  Like weeding the flower bed.  (It’d gotten to the point where the flower beds looked like an extension of the yard.  Grass had overtaken them.  It was lovely.)  Or finishing ruffle pants for Amber’s little ladies.  (Now, getting them in the mail will be the next big accomplishment.)  Or making our bed in the morning.

I won’t dwell on not being able to locate the missing library book that I am 86.4% certain I returned to the library.  And I’m not going to stress about the ruffle skirt that I sewed backwards yesterday.  (Some days are made for sewing.  Yesterday was not one of them.) And if my child does not follow the evening schedule and is not in bed by 7:30, I am not going to throw a hissy fit in my head.

2 thoughts on “Planning, Schmanning

  1. Yah– I thought it was going all too well– I was jealous of your raging energy and motivation. Welcome to the world of mothering– btw, the world is just not yours anymore–YOUR plans may or may not get done… so I agree- just celebrate what can be accomplished!

  2. Yeah for ruffle pants! If you can accomplish one thing per day above and beyond feeding, clothing, and bathing that baby you are doing great! And yes, that one thing can be just taking a shower yourself 🙂 Throw meal planning out the window – or let Jon do it! And slowly bring back the easiest thing in your life (the white board won at our house). It should be easily erased with a little water or if that doesn’t work try fingernail polish remover (it’ll be good as new in no time)! Keep going and you’ll get there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

