Arts and Crafts at the Cozy House

The craft corner, aka our dining room table, is a hot mess lately. I keep adding to it…fabrics, pattern pieces, scissors of all types and sizes, and on and on and on.

What was on the agenda this weekend?

– More baby leg warmers. Found these socks, 3 pairs for $2 at Wal-Mart…they’re obviously leftover from the fourth of July, but they’re still cute!

20110807-110848.jpg

– Fabric balls for rag rugs. (I have no idea what to call these.) Picked up some sheets at garage sales. I tore them into strips (which is actually a really good stress reliever), tied ’em together, and balled them up to crochet into rugs. The purple ball is gigantic…it was a king size sheet and is probably the size of my head. Ok, probably not that big, but it was heavy and awkward by the time I got done with it. I didn’t think it’d ever be ready to go. Have a few more sheet sets to prep, and then I’ll be ready to jump back on the rag rug train.

20110807-111325.jpg

– Rosette flowers. I just think these are so sweet. I’ve been meaning to try them for a while and they are a cinch…just take a strip of fabric, fold it in half, knot on one end, wrap and glue! Super cute on a barrette or headband. Not sure what I’ll do with them, but they’re fun. And easy. I’m all about easy.

20110807-111901.jpg

– Last but not least…appliqués on the Cricut. The machine must have felt that it was on my “sell on eBay” list, because it finally cooperated with me and we finally made some wonderful progress. Applied some heat and bond to some fabric swatches and appliquéd them to a baby tee for Abby. This was the test shirt, and I’m so excited to try some others.

Cute little tee + leg warmers + matching cloth diaper = one stinking cute baby.

20110807-112422.jpg

I have a few more sewing projects on the docket this week…hopefully Abby has some good nap times so we can make some progress! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Arts and Crafts at the Cozy House

    • I know…I hadn’t either! I came across the tutorial on YouTube. And I’d just like to say that it’s incredibly addicting. I can’t wait to get home from work and whip up some more shirts. 😉

Leave a Reply

