Knitting: The First Efforts

I need to learn how to knit.

This whole knitted thing started because of the cloth diapers.  In the cloth diapering world, some people use wool “longies” or “shorties” over diapers at night-time to contain leaks.  Apparently if you put these wool covers over diapers and the diaper springs a leak overnight, the wool will absorb the moisture and prevent baby’s clothes and sheets from becoming sopping wet.  Abby’s only leaked at night a couple of times, but those couple of times have made me crazy.  I’m sure it’s no fun for her, either, waking up soaked.

So lots of these wool pants/shorts are really, really cute. And it doesn’t stop there.  The more I learned about the world of baby wool, the more I loved all the adorable outfits and pieces.  Here are a few that make me melt:

These are the Pink Potluck Shortalls from BabyBear on Etsy:

LOVE these longies, also from BabyBear.  Seriously, I am dying over those ruffled pants.

Or this so sweet skirtie from NoMiKnits, also on Etsy.

OK, so are you feeling the wool love with me yet?  Gorgeous!

And expensive.

Thus, I have been inspired to learn how to knit.  No easy feat, I know, but one that I nonetheless at least need to try.  Now, mind you, I have NO knitting experience, but I’m just dying to at least give it a try.

So I did some research online, and am learning to knit via…(drumroll, please)…

YouTube.

Seriously, the knitting how-to videos abound!  Another awesome resource I was referred to is knittinghelp.com, but I’ve so far mainly used YouTube.

I bought a couple of cheapy needles from Wal-Mart and dug out some yarn from my craft supplies, and yesterday I sat down during Abby’s naptime, turned on some YouTube videos, and started learning.  I learned how to cast on and how to do a simple knit/garner stitch (I think that’s what it’s called?).  I just did some short little rows for practice.

It may take me months (or years, knowing how scatter-brained I am and how great I am at starting and abandoning projects), but I’m going to give it a try.  Practice makes perfect, as my mother always says.  And I will say that what I love about knitting so far is that I can cozy-down on the couch with my needles and a ball of yarn and go to town.  A lot less equipment than sewing.  I can see why it’d be a great activity for the winter months.

So I obviously have lots and lots of practice and learning ahead of me before I can attempt any sort of project, but thanks to YouTube, I think it may be doable.  Time will tell!

5 thoughts on “Knitting: The First Efforts

  1. You go girl! I am impressed with your enthusiasm and willingness to try knitting. I can’t wait to see your finished projects! 🙂

  2. The Homespun style yarn may be frustrating for a new knitter, just sayin’. Too many slubs for seeing whats going on, IMO.

    • Oh my gosh, you are so right. I learned that lesson quickly. I was able to find some yucky acrylic yarn in my craft box to practice on instead…not very pretty, but way more manageable!

  3. I love buying wool stuff at Goodwill and unraveling it now (have to know how the item is constructed first) tons of yarn for $2.50!

Leave a Reply

