Two Weeks In

Thanks for bearing with my lack of blog posts. Our days are filled with feedings, changing diapers, and napping whenever possible, which leaves me feeling like I have nothing of interest to blog about, unless you’d like to know specifics of our 3:45 am diaper changes. I’m hoping we will be out and about more in the next week or two, which will make life a little more interesting. For now, here are a few factoids from Abby’s second week.

1. Sleep is good. I miss it.
2. I’ve taken up (what feels like) permanent residence in the living room, next to the pack and play. I miss our bed.
3. The doctor prescribes stool softeners for a reason.
4. Modesty (thanks to breastfeeding) has gone out the window.
5. I didn’t think it possible, but I’m even more neurotic and paranoid now that I’m a mommy. Poor Abby.
6. The pack and play rocks our world. Right now the sound machine/vibration feature is saving the day (or night, actually). We couldn’t survive without it.
7. Having Grandma Grove here has meant everything. She’s heading home this weekend, and I’m not sure we will survive without her.
8. Burping this child is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Seriously.

4 thoughts on “Two Weeks In

  1. I’m so glad to see you have maintained your awesome sense of humor- you crack me up! Abby is so lucky to have you for a mommy, so don’t worry about being neurotic– you are a first time mommy, so you are entitled! So glad your mom has been able to stay with you these past two weeks. I know you will survive quite well without her, though. Let me know when you are out and about! I would love to see you both. I’m sure Abby has grown and changed a lot since I saw her!

    • 🙂
      We are surviving so far…somehow! I’m hoping to make it to the fitness center one of these afternoons, so hopefully we can catch up with you. You’re more than welcome to come out to the house anytime, too! We love company-catch a ride out with Tresia sometime!

  2. I remember well being a Mom for the first time. Where did all those emotions come from? The Doctor used forceps to assist in the delivery and I remember needing uncle Roger’s help to get into the shower for the first time after her birth. I was crying, hurting and quite sure Uncle Roger was plotting a divorce so he wouldn’t have to spend the rest of his life with the crazy lady who use to be his wife! It did not take long befor we fell into a wonderful routine, had homecooked meals and were on time to church again. My Mother spent a week with us. I remember feeling sad and overwhelmed when she left. I had the most amazing Mother in law who lived on the other side of the cornfield. She stepped in and became a tremendous support to our family. It was so much fun watching her enjoy being a grandmother. Knowing she was praying for our family was perhaps one of the greatest things she did for us. I count her as one of my greatest blessings! So all that said, you are going to be just fine.

Leave a Reply

