Frozen Assets: Our Latest Freezer Cooking Day

I was excited to get one more freezer cooking day in before the kid arrives next month.  We still have a few lingering meals in the freezers, but it’s always reassuring to have a good stash that will get you through a month or two or three.

Here’s what everyone prepared:

Jen:

Danielle:

  • Tater tot casserole
  • Lasagna
  • Meatloaf

Angela:

  • Breakfast burritos
  • Ham & noodle casserole
  • Sloppy joes

Holly:

  • Cheesy hash brown casserole
  • Meatballs
  • Crunchy chicken breasts

Sara:

  • Stuffed taco shells
  • Steak fried rice
  • Chili

Here are some tips that I tried out this time around:

  • I wanted to do as much prepping as possible before Saturday morning, just to make the day a little easier.  So I chopped all my veggies and measured out any measurable ingredients beforehand.  In the past I would have used small Tupperware containers for anything that was prepped ahead of time, but why?  Tupperware = more dishes.  Blech.  So this time I threw each prepped ingredient for each recipe into a ziplock baggie, labeled it with the amount and the recipe it would be used for, and packed it in my box.  That way I could just dump it in with the rest of the ingredients when preparing the meal and life was that much easier.

  • I also printed out labels to put on each of the dishes I prepared, so that I wouldn’t have to hand write instructions for how to cook/warm up each meal that I prepared.  This is an awfully handy time-saver, but I forgot to account for the fact that some of us prefer to do two or three smaller portions of a meal, rather than one large…so I still ended up having to write the cooking day directions on a number of meals.  Next time I will have to remember to print extra labels.

We started cooking at 8:30ish, and I was packed up and heading home by noon; I ended up with 32 meals.  Not bad for a Saturday morning.

Leave a Reply

