Hot Spot #1 Update: The Closet(s)

Last week I posted about Simple Mom’s Hot Spot Decluttering Challenge, and vowed to attack the closets in our house this weekend.

I woke up Saturday morning at 6:30 am in full nesting mode.  I had a baby shower later in the day, and was freaking out about lack of storage space for baby items that I’d be bringing home to the cozy house.  I can only pile so much onto the queen sized bed that currently occupies that room.  So I started out by emptying closet space in the soon-to-be-nursery.  We have two closets in that room – one is a traditional closet; the other is three sections of built-in shelves.  Both very handy.  Both very messy.  Here are the before shots.

This one doesn’t look that messy, but these shelves are deep and have a LOT crammed into them.  Trust me.  There are two other sections to this built-in- the one above has some random stuff that will probably stay there for the time being, because it’s too high to access easily.  And I have to confess that I started emptying out the bottom section before I remembered to take “before” pics, so you’ll just have to trust me that it was packed full, too.  Oh, and I should say that the content of these cabinets are primarily “mine;” can’t blame any of this on Jon!  It’s mostly sewing/craft type stuff that I don’t know where to put. 

Here’s the after…and I was able to move in some baby stuff, which was the whole goal.  Woo-hoo!!

I had to keep my sewing machine and patterns up on the top shelf for the time being, but they won’t be living there forever.  I have a few more projects to sew before baby comes so I want to keep them relatively accessible until I’m finished. 

This is the closet in the nursery.  It still looks like this.  I didn’t get around to tackling it this weekend, but it will be easily tamed compared to the other closet areas that were cleaned.  I’m posting the “before” shot anyway, so you can all experience the blissful mess with me in spirit.  I know it looks super scary, but this is one instance where appearances are a little decieiving (thank goodness).   It mostly holds gift wrap/bags/bows and toys, and won’t be that difficult to tame once I get around to it.

Then there is this mess that is our bedroom closet.  The closet itself is large; Jon and I each have our own sides and have plenty of room to hang up clothes.  I didn’t touch the bottom part, because it’s pretty much good to go.  I did go through it to weed out items for Goodwill and/or ebay, but am not going to make any changes otherwise.  The upper closet section is a different story. The upper sections of our closet are once again very deep, so there’s lots of room to cram things up there and get lost.

My side, before:

Jon’s side, before:

Yikes!

Are you still there, or have you run off, screaming in horror and covering your eyes?  I wouldn’t blame you if you had. It’s what I wanted to do, trust me.

But I gave myself the French Kiss/Meg Ryan speech (“I WILL TRIUMPH!”) and set about my duties.

And once again, I didn’t complete the entire project (I can only take so much of this at one time before I peeter out).  But I did get my half of the upper closet cleaned and removed SOME of the items from Jon’s side.  Baby steps, people, baby steps. 

My side, after:

Much better!  I can actually see what’s up there now, and don’t have to worry about the whole mess avalanching on my head when I open the doors.   That’s always a good thing. 🙂  I have a huge garage sale box started, and a small to-sell-on-ebay box.  I love getting junk out of my house.  Now, if I could only convince my husband to NOT keep every box for every gadget that he buys…we might actually make some progress on his side of the closet! 

And Tresia volunteered to come over and help me tackle cleaning the baby’s room, so I will owe her about 1,542 Cokes for that saintly action.  Bless you, my dear friend.  Bless you. 

I think this week’s hot spot is paper clutter, which I have actually been on top of lately, so I won’t probably do anything with that one this week.  As always, for more info about the Hot Spot Decluttering project, you can click the button on the right side of my blog…it will take you directly to Simple Mom’s site where you can read all about the project. 

Here’s to decluttering!

Leave a Reply

