Morning People

I really, really, really want to be a morning person.

To all of you who wake up at 4:30 am and go for a run and clean the bathtub and do 6 loads of laundry before heading to work at 8:00 am: you are my heroes.  I want to be you when I grow up.

It’s all I can do to drag myself out of bed in the morning, throw myself together and make it out the door, all in under a half hour. I love staying in bed in the mornings…especially in the cold winter months when I’m buried in flannel sheets and down comforters.

In my perfect world, I would have plenty of time in the mornings to eat breakfast, have some prayer and Bible study time, feed the dogs, water the plants, and maybe even do a little cleaning.

My problem is that I also want to be a night person.  I want to squeeze as much as I can out of each day, so I tend to delay going to bed until I absolutely can’t keep my eyes open any longer.  (Although since I’ve been pregnant, this means on a good night I crash at about 8:30, rather than 11:00. Sigh.)

So obviously I can’t have it both ways…can’t be a morning person AND a night person.  And at this point in my life, I’d rather be a morning person.  Taking it slow and easy in the morning is a lot more appealing than tearing through the house at 90 miles an hour, rushing, rushing, rushing.  It’s not my ideal way to spend the morning. It kind of makes me want to end the day before it even begins – it’s a little defeating.

I came across this free ebook online, and it’s given me lots to think about:

It says it’s a free ebook for moms, but don’t worry if you’re not a mom…or dad…because there are lots and lots of tips in the book that can help you regardless.  This ebook is simple and easy to read and is super motivating.  It has many helpful tips and ideas for those of us who desire to have more organized, meaningful mornings.

The thing I like most about the ebook is that the author encourages us to take baby steps, like getting up just 5 minutes earlier each week.  That is so doable!  I think my morning goal is to wake up at 6:15 (ish), instead of 6:45(ish) like I”m doing now.  So this week, I am getting up at 6:40 instead of 6:45, and next week I’ll get up at 6:35, and so on until I reach my 6:15 am goal.  I’m already appreciating the few extra minutes I’ve gained.  That approach is tons easier for me to swallow than telling myself that I will be getting up at 6:15 starting tomorrow.

So if you’re like me and aspire to be a Morning Person, you should check out the book.  It just may change your life.  Or at least your day.

Leave a Reply

