Movie Countdown: #8

Can I just say that I think I am learning something about myself through this countdown? My top 10 list is revealing that I am VERY easily amused.  Given the choice, I’d much rather indulge in movies that are somewhat mindless and pointless rather than movies that change the world.  Usually.

I feel like I needed to say that before introducing movie #8 on my list, because if that fact wasn’t apparent to you before, it sure will be now.

#8. So I Married An Axe Murderer

I can’t help it.  And I can’t apologize for my undying adoration of this movie.  In college my roommates and I went through a Mike Myers phase, and this one totally stuck with me.   It didn’t matter how crummy my day was – all I needed was to hear Amy say, in a fake Scottish accent, “HEAD! MOVE! NOW!” and life was instantly better.

And once you get one of Charlie’s bad coffee shop song-poems in your head, you’ll be singing it until eternity.  Trust me.  I’m stuck there right now.

“Harriet! Harry-it, hard-hearted harbinger of haggis… Beautiful, bemuse-ed, bellicose butcher. Un-trust… ing. Un-know… ing. Un-love… ed? He wants you back, he screams into the night air like a fireman going to a window that has no fire… except the passion of his heart. I am lonely! It’s really hard! This poem… sucks.”

And I would just like to say that for those of you who haven’t seen this classic and think you can predict how it ends anyway, you just need to watch it and see for yourselves.

Long live Mike Myers!

Leave a Reply

