Lens Love

Yesterday evening I wasted some time snapping pictures with one of my newer lenses, the 50mm 2.0.I love, love, L-U-V it.

For so long I’ve only used zoom lenses; this 50mm is the first “prime” lens (prime just means the lens is a fixed lens – it doesn’t zoom) that I have had success with.  It’s a sweet little lens.

Since it’s an older lens, my camera won’t focus automatically when using it.  I’ve been spoiled by this auto-focus  feature thus far – usually I just have to hold the shutter down halfway and it focuses my shot for me.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about having to set the camera on manual, and having to focus everything by hand before taking the shot.

After some practice…surprise, surprise, I love focusing manually now!  It gives me so much more control over what I capture in a photograph, and really allows me to be creative and mess around more with each shot.  I may just keep my camera on manual focus forever.

I came across an article recently that talked about how to take great photos that are focused correctly, and a lot of the suggestions were super helpful.  I thought I’d share a couple with those of you who are trying to figure out all this camera stuff like I am.

Tip #1: Hold your breath when taking a photo.  I tried this last night, and I really could tell a difference in my pics. The camera has to be still or else the pic will be blurry or out of focus. Holding your breath helps you stay still while taking the photo.  Also, don’t be afraid to lean on a counter top or against a tree or a wall to help steady yourself.

Tip #2: Every lens has a sweet spot.  I didn’t really get this concept until I actually practiced with the 50mm and found the sweet spot.  Then it made sense.  And that’s when I really started to love that 50mm.

OK, all of you pros out there – anyone have any other tips?  Feel free to share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Lens Love

  1. Hey I have been wanting to get some pictures of me and my baby (paint horse) before he is not around anymore. Would you be interested in taking them. I would be happy to pay you.

    • Angie, I’d be happy to! I’ve never taken pics like that before, and I’d love to give it a shot – and wouldn’t even think of having you pay me. Facebook or email me and let me know when you’d like to make it happen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

