I Heart Traveling

It doesn’t matter where or why or for how long.

I like to travel.

Nothing thrills me more than packing a suitcase and hitting the road, camera in one hand, map in the other.

My eyes love new views, my feet love new terrain, my mouth loves new cuisine.

And even more than all that, I love being reminded that there is a whole big wide world out there, beyond my little reality.

When I travel, I’m stretched past what is comfortable and familiar and easy.  I”m placed in unfamiliar situations with unfamiliar people.

I need that every now and then, especially when I get sucked into the “me” vortex.  I like being reminded that my way, my life, my viewpoint, my tendencies, aren’t the only way.  They’re simply mine.

I love that we have a God who loves variety.  And I love getting out and seeing that variety – people, places, and everything in between – first hand.  It’s not about how far I roam.  It’s more about what I’m learning as I go, and seeing the world through His eyes.

We’re leaving for San Diego in the morning – my brother-in-law is graduating from Marines boot camp, so the whole fam is traveling out for the occasion.  I’m trying something new on this trip – it’s called traveling light, which is code for “not lugging a laptop in my carry-on.”  Not sure I’ll be blogging at all until we return this weekend, but I am sure that I will have some good blog-able moments from the trip, so be in touch!

2 thoughts on “I Heart Traveling

Leave a Reply

