I’ve Been Nooked

I didn’t want to do it.

I fought it for a long time.

But spending 2.5 hours at Barnes and Noble meant that I wandered past the display over…and over…and over…until I could resist no longer.

I bought a nook.

For those of you unfamiliar, the nook is an “e-reader” – a portable reading device that can hold thousands of reading materials.

I felt a little bit like a traitor.  I love books so much and there’s just something romantic and comforting about holding books, marking them up with a highlighter, turning pages and piling them on bookshelves.  I kind of felt disloyal to my English degree, for some reason.

But there’s also something to be said for being able to have 1,500 books available at a moments notice, especially when you’re traveling and don’t want to fill your carry on luggage with 17 books.

Now I’m hooked on my nook.

So in the few weeks that I’ve had the nook, all the feelings of disloyalty and treachery have faded.  I’ve fallen head over heels.  There are still books I will definitely want hard copies of, but for the times when I am working on five fun “beach books” at once, the nook is my best friend.

You know you’ve become a nook-aholic when…

  1. You already own the hard copy of a book and you still buy the e-version.
  2. You want more nook covers so you can color coordinate with your nook.
  3. You knock over the Barnes & Noble clerk at the nook display so you can tell customers how great it is yourself.
  4. You spend your last $9 on an e-book.
  5. You leave early for a doctor’s appointment so that you can read longer in the waiting room.
  6. You read your nook in the bathroom.
  7. You ask, “Is that book nookable?”
  8. You actually WANT to use the elliptical so that you can read your nook while you work out.
  9. The only gifts you want for the rest of your life are Barnes & Noble gift certificates so that you can buy more e-books.  (Thank you, Tresia.)
  10. You leave the house without your cell phone, purse, wallet, or camera…but NEVER without your nook.
4 thoughts on “I’ve Been Nooked

  1. Wow. I can’t believe it. And I totally felt the same way about the “e-readers,” been resisting it for a long time. But Greg has decided he wants a Nook, and he thinks I’d love it. I’m slowly becoming a convert…This is encouraging, especially coming from you, my Book Friend. : )

    • I know, right? I was so against e-readers, but now I am a total convert. The reason I went with the nook is because you can lend books to friends who also have a nook, which is super fab! I think you’d love it, Candice…keep me posted! 🙂

      • I don’t know if you saw my FB post, but my parents got me a Nook for my bday! How funny is that? I’ve been spending most of my free time browsing the B&N website and trying to decide what to download. SO, if you have something fabulous, let me know and we can do the lending thing! I’ll try to return the favor – ha!

Leave a Reply

