1000 Thoughts Floating Around

Prior to going to CPYR, I knew nothing about horses.

I now officially know next to nothing about horses, because I did pick up a few tidbits of horse-related info while at the ranch last week.  It wasn’t enough to make me run out and saddle up, but I at least am not 100% clueless anymore.  Now it’s more like 98.3%.  Improvement!

There were a couple of horse sessions that talked about working with horses and preparing them to be used around kids and inexperienced riders.  Also had a session on hoof care/trimming, which hopefully Susan got a lot out of because most of that went way over my pitiful head.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That said, I learned lots of other stuff unrelated to horses.  Learned lots of stuff about youth ranches and non-profits, about 501 (c) 3’s and insurance, vision and mission statements.

But most of what I learned had nothing to do with starting a faith-based non-profit.

I’ve been trying to wrap up all I experienced at CPYR in a nice, little, neatly written post.  But there’s just too much. Every time I try, I just start babbling about things that don’t make sense to anyone but me.   I can’t summarize all that happened last week in a nice little post because God is doing so much through them.  It would take a month’s worth of posts to share everything with you.  I won’t do that to you – but I will share a couple of “aha” moments that I had in my time there.

I learned how important it is to make a place warm, inviting, welcoming, comfortable.

I learned about LOVING people.  Really deep-down loving them…not just seeing through them and looking past them, as I’m prone to do in day to day life, but embracing them just as they are, regardless of my mood.

I learned how important it is to be transparent…meaning I need to be honest, forth-coming, sincere in everything I say and do and write.

I learned that prayer matters, and praying with an expectant attitude really matters…which is probably a “duh” statement, but all too often I underestimate God and what he can do if I would just give him room to move and stop trying to control everything.

I don’t know what will come from attending this clinic.  I know Susan really feels led to do a similar ministry, and I hope that it happens, but for now we are waiting and praying in expectation that God will open the doors for what He wants from it, whether it’s  starting a new ministry a few months or a few years from now, or even not at all.  We will  follow him in faith and with expectant hearts to whatever lies before us.

One thought on “1000 Thoughts Floating Around

  1. So proud of you both and glad you had a good time. Keep in mind for the most part, people make caring for and using a horse much more difficult than it is.

Leave a Reply

