Sew Cute!

A while back, I decided that I needed something else to do in the evenings other than watch reality tv.

So I did the unthinkable – I hauled out my sewing machine.

When I was growing up, my mom sewed a lot.  I tried to follow in her footsteps while at home, but I just struggled with it.  I didn’t enjoy it at the time – I think maybe I was a little too impatient.  Plus, I’m great at starting projects, but not so great at finishing them.  I liked the idea of sewing, just not the actual process.

Once I moved out of my parents’ house and into my own very tiny apartment, I discovered that sewing curtains and tablecloths and potholders rather than buying them often saved me quite a bit of money, and made things much more “homey.”

So until recently, that had been the extent of my sewing.  And I was ok with that.

But sometimes boredom gets the better of me, so I braved up a few months ago and bought some new patterns and decided to branch out and see what might come of it.

I’ve discovered that the key to my sewing success is to find little projects that can be completed in an hour or two.  If it’s something that is complicated and involves a lot of zippers and tucks and folds and TIME, it’s not ever going to happen with these two hands.

So last weekend, which was blustery and cold, I was happy to remain indoors, so I sat down with my sewing machine at the dining room table, and this is what came from my efforts.

I’ve seen these camera straps online, so I decided to try my hand at making one instead of buying one.  It’s just a sleeve that slides over the strap.  It was super easy – took me about 15 minutes from start to finish, which included making the pattern, so it was super fast.  And it’s 100% more fun than the boring black strap that came with the camera.

I’ve been in an apron mood lately, and am in love with “vintage” aprons.  Can’t wait to try more styles!

I’ve been making these bags for a few months now.  They have pockets inside and are nice and large.  I’ve re-sized the pattern to make a smaller version, too, but I think nothing measures up to the original.  One of these days I may try sprucing them up with ribbon and fun, frilly, decorative details, but they are just so cute as-is!


So that’s what kept me busy last weekend.  True, these aren’t the most challenging projects out there, but I am not a great sewer, so they are enough for me for now!  There’s so many cute things I’d like to try – I’m hoping to do a camera bag, some storage bags for my camera lenses, maybe a checkbook cover and definitely a case for my ipod.  Tresia bought a dress pattern that she’d like me to try, so that will be the next big project on my to-do list, which is slightly terrifying for me.  I hope she doesn’t run off screaming when she sees the finished product.  I make no guarantees to my sewing ability!     Fingers crossed all goes well there…

I guess what’s important to me is having a hobby.  I think it’s all too easy for me to get sucked into doing nothing, and I don’t want to be there.  It feels good to create!

6 thoughts on “Sew Cute!

  1. Um how about I send you some fabric and u send me purses those are sooo sute they sell them at the cover bridge fair here but I don’t always get to go but I love those

  2. Way to go, Jen! I loved reading about your adventures in sewing and actually seeing what you’ve made!

    I can’t resist vintage-style aprons, either. The one you made is darling! In fact, I have the very same pattern and have been wanting to make one for myself. I always, always wear an apron when I’m working in the kitchen, so I can’t have too many, can I?

    And what girl could resist your adorable bags … and with handy pockets inside?! Would be great to fill one up for a baby shower.

    You’ve got my creative juices flowin’!

  3. Ooo, cute! I’d love to have the pattern for that bag! And the camera strap is too great! I need a strap for my camera. That just might be the inspiration I need!

  4. Amanda! I would totally make them for you! Send me the fabric anytime!

    Amber – I have a knack for finding small places to live. Very tiny apartment, cozy house…I’m scared to see what’s next. 🙂

    Erin – Now it’s your turn! Can’t wait to see what you’re sewing – blog, blog, blog and keep me posted! I can so see you in a vintage apron – I bet you’re adorable! (PS – I love your idea for a baby shower gift! I am so doing that next time!)

Leave a Reply

