Decorating for Dummies

Oh. My. Gosh.

This is the best night EVER for 2 reasons:

  1. LOST is back.  (Oh, how I’ve missed your dimples, Sawyer.  Charlie is alive again?! And Sayid is dead?!  What is going on?!  I love this show.)
  2. I have finally, at long last, solved the mystery of The Wall in the bathroom.

For the 2 ½ years I’ve lived in this house, I have struggled with how to decorate The Wall.  We have a long, skinny bathroom, and it’s decorated in a lodge/deer/hunting/fishing theme.  I have tried to decorate it with many a wall art, never with much success.  It’s such a long, blank space, but today, it came to me.  The answer to the problem of The Wall.  And it came to me in Alco.

And when I saw it, it was as though a beacon of light shone down from heaven.

They are called Add-Heres.  They were $17.99.  And they are wonderful.

These are adhesive, removable, reusable stick-ons for walls.  The package says, “Peel – Stick – Remove – Reposition: Instant decorative adhesive art for walls and more…”

There were tons of different designs and sizes of vinyl tiles, including a set called “Lodge,” which was perfect for our bathroom wall.  This set had nine tiles, and the picture on the package even showed how to arrange them in a grid pattern.  LOVE that!

The hardest part was taping off the lines for the grid pattern, to ensure that everything would be nice and straight once on the wall…but even that wasn’t that hard.  I was in a hurry to get done in order to watch LOST, so I just eyeballed it and taped off a quick grid. Slapped on the tiles, and BAM!  Perfection in approximately 12 minutes.  It just doesn’t get much easier than that.

I hesitated buying these for a split second just because of the fact that I did apply a texture to the bathroom walls a couple of years ago.  It looks like this, and was done using sheets of tissue paper from presents received at my bridal showers:

The Add-Heres package recommends using the tiles on smooth, non-textured surfaces, so I wasn’t sure how they’d do on the bathroom walls.  But I decided to chance it and try anyway, and I’m so glad I did, because they worked just fine.  And I’m considering going back to see if they have any that will work in other rooms of our house.

So if you live near an Alco, rush out to see if they carry Add-Heres.  You will love them.

Now that I’ve found the solution for The Wall, I kind of feel as though my purpose on this earth has been fulfilled.

And LOST has returned.

Life is good.

3 thoughts on “Decorating for Dummies

  1. I love those, Jen! They look great with the color of your walls and the style of the door. Thanks for the tip…will look them up.

    Are Add-Heres forever repositionable or are they permanent after you’ve placed them in their final position?

    • They aren’t permanent…they’re just like stickers, really. I put one on totally crooked and just peeled it right off to straighten it up. The package gives some detailed instructions about how to take them off and re-use them. That’s one of the reasons I really liked them. I’ve used the vinyl sayings that you have to rub onto the wall, and I didn’t want anything that permanent for the bathroom, so I think these are perfect! I’ve heard that they are sold at Target, Bed Bath and Beyond, and I’m pretty sure Kohl’s has them, too – I can’t wait to get to the big city and see what kind of selection is out there! Keep me posted if you decide to try them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

