Spic and Span

This week has been crazy-busy at work and the fitness center.   The cozy house is now officially a mess, but it started out clean at the beginning of the week, and I owe it all to my new favorite cleaning helpers: a metal nail file and a toothbrush.

So in the kitchen we have a porcelain sink and it has definitely seen better days.  Even though it’s an old sink, I like it to look as spic and span as possible, so when I came across some tips on how to get a super-clean sink, I thought I’d give it a try.  There were many, many steps involved in the process, but I’ll just share the highlights that I think made the most difference on our sinks.

To clean the kitchen sink, I used a Lysol kitchen antibacterial spray.  I sprayed the sink and surrounding counter and let it sit for just a few minutes, and then I got to work.  I used the nail file first, and used it to get in the ridge where the sink meets the counter.  That nail file can get into every nook and cranny and removed gunk that I’ve never been able to remove.  It was fabulous!  Once I went over the sink and around the faucet with the nail file, I re-sprayed everything and went over it with the toothbrush.  And the end result was amazing. A-MAZING.  I was actually so excited about the results that I moved on to the bathroom.

The hardest part about cleaning our bathroom is the shower.  We have sliding shower doors, and I think they are the worst, hardest thing to clean in the world.  A nightmare.  I have used every type of sponge and cleaner out there to clean the cracks and crevices around those shower doors and have never had much luck – until now!  In the bathroom I used that Scrubbing Bubbles cleaner stuff, and followed the same basic routine on the shower and the bathroom vanity that I used on the kitchen sink.  FAB!

I mean, seriously.  I hate to clean.  But I could not get enough of using this nail file.  It was miraculous.  I kind of think this was the best part of my weekend.

I’d post “before” and “after” pics if the “before” shots weren’t so disturbing.

🙂

2 thoughts on “Spic and Span

  1. A metal nail file … ingenious! I’ve been using a toothbrush for years, but the nail file will work well on stuff that’s really stubborn.

    My favorite cleaning trick:
    1. spray Windex on dry kitchen and bathroom faucets
    2. rub vigorously with a dry cloth
    3. enjoy the brilliant shine

Leave a Reply

