My Word Of The Year

My WOTY for 2010:  Acceptance

So, there are many reasons I chose “acceptance” as my WOTY, the main one being that I struggled with accepting a lot of things that happened in 2009, and I don’t want to go there again in 2010.  It wasn’t a fun place to be.

When I start to worry about jobs, about how/if the status of our family will change, about the fitness center, about travel plans…I know that the Lord holds all of these matters in His hands.  He knows the outcome of each situation already, and He is in control and will lead each situation to the end that He knows is best.

I am learning that the sooner I ACCEPT this, the sooner I can move on with my life and quit wasting time worrying and planning and plotting and scheming.  I don’t have to do any of those things because the Lord knows what is best for me, and by accepting it and moving on, I can focus my time and energy on being happy and hopeful and productive, rather than sulking and living in fear of the unknown.

I looked up “acceptance” in the thesaurus, and was really encouraged by some of the synonyms that were listed.  Check these out:

  • Receipt
  • Taking
  • Getting
  • Reception
  • Approval
  • Agreement
  • Tolerance
  • Favorable reception
  • Belief

I started thinking about these words in relation to life.  To me, these words equal “blessings!”  Taking and receiving and getting and believing in and ACCEPTING the days and moments and situations and problems and people that God gives me.  Why would I turn away from that?!

So I want to be more accepting this year.

More accepting of people.

More accepting of ideas that aren’t mine.

More accepting of situations I have no control over…and more trusting that God knows what he’s doing.

What’s YOUR Word of the Year?  Feel free to share in the comments – I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “My Word Of The Year

    • My word for 2010 is Acceptance.
      Acceptance of my job, my self, that the house won’t be perfectly clean and that’s ok, that I will get my body back but it won’t happen over night. Justin will always love me even when it takes 2 hrs to make a 30 minute meal. I hope 2010 is one Heck of a Great Year!

Leave a Reply

